Line of Sight and ongoing spells


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

Does an ongoing spell (like spiritual weapon) require ongoing line of sight? That is, if the spiritual weapon successfully attacks a foe and that foe moves out of the cleric's line of sight, can the spiritual weapon follow?


I would say no, as you have to direct the spirit weapon to attack. It says in the description the spiritual weapon is treated as per a spell, and you cannot target something or someone with a spell you do not have line of sight of, therefore I would treat spiritual weapon the same way.

Sovereign Court

Tarondor wrote:
Does an ongoing spell (like spiritual weapon) require ongoing line of sight? That is, if the spiritual weapon successfully attacks a foe and that foe moves out of the cleric's line of sight, can the spiritual weapon follow?

Spiritual Weapon actually covers this in its description.

"If the weapon goes beyond the spell range, if it goes out of your sight, or if you are not directing it, the weapon returns to you and hovers."

--School of Vrock


Tarondor wrote:
Does an ongoing spell (like spiritual weapon) require ongoing line of sight? That is, if the spiritual weapon successfully attacks a foe and that foe moves out of the cleric's line of sight, can the spiritual weapon follow?

No, read the specific spell itself.

-James

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Line of Sight and ongoing spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions