Holy Vindicator: can you invoke a spell while raging


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

The Holy Vindicators (HV) Divine Wrath, Divine Judgement, and Divine Retribution class abilities allow the HV to invoke doom, death knell, and bestow curse respectively. My question is may you invoke these spells if all of the conditions are met but you are raging.

Essentially does invoking a spell require concentration?

Scarab Sages

Self concerned bump


Spells are not castable while raging. Note the exception for the "Rage Prophet" (APG) that gains this ability:

Raging Healer (Su): At 2nd level, a rage prophet is able to cast cure spells on himself while raging, without having to use clarity of mind.

Scarab Sages

LoreKeeper wrote:

Spells are not castable while raging. Note the exception for the "Rage Prophet" (APG) that gains this ability:

Raging Healer (Su): At 2nd level, a rage prophet is able to cast cure spells on himself while raging, without having to use clarity of mind.

so invoking does count as casting a spell? I'm just not sure what the term "invoke" details. It says it's an immediate action. that's about it.

Dark Archive

Kairn Gnosis wrote:
so invoking does count as casting a spell? I'm just not sure what the term "invoke" details. It says it's an immediate action. that's about it.

Yes, as stated invoking is still spellcasting.

Scarab Sages

Carbon D. Metric wrote:
Kairn Gnosis wrote:
so invoking does count as casting a spell? I'm just not sure what the term "invoke" details. It says it's an immediate action. that's about it.
Yes, as stated invoking is still spellcasting.

As stated where? lol


Spell like ability. All spell like abilities are based on the mental stats... as such are not able to be used while raging... iirc.

Scarab Sages

Abraham spalding wrote:
Spell like ability. All spell like abilities are based on the mental stats... as such are not able to be used while raging... iirc.

OOOO =) I see it now =) that little "sp" tells me everything. thanks sorry for the silly question.


you can take the moment of clarity rage power to be able to get them off once a combat if you so desire

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Holy Vindicator: can you invoke a spell while raging All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.