Zexcir
|
If a character is unarmed and picks up both a shield and sword would they provoke two attacks of opportunity if there are two enemies or one of the enemies has combat reflexes???
Furthermore if they picked up two items would they be able to attack you this round? Since picking up an object is a move action, would it be considered two move actions not allowing them to attack the same round they pick up the items?
| Lathiira |
Rules as written, yes, picking up 2 items is 2 move actions, so no attacks or other actions that round. You'd decide on an item (say, the shield), declare you're picking it up, resolve all AoOs, pick up the item, pick up the sword, resolve any AoOs (from people with Combat Reflexes), then finish your round, perhaps with a 5' step. Each action provokes AoOs independently.
| DM_Blake |
Actually, I would suggest picking up the shield (provokes), wielding the shield. Next turn pick up the sword (provokes, but with the shield's AC bonus added in), and potentially make a standard action attack with it.
Two potential flaws.
1. If your enemies don't have Combat Reflexes, then you can pick up both items in the same round and only provoke one time. Do it your way and you provoke twice the number of AoOs. So yeah, do it your way if you know for sure that they have Combat Reflexes, or even if you have a good reason to think they do, but otherwise, I'd get them both in one round.
2. If you have iterative attacks or if you're hasted, etc., then you might want to get your weapon in the first round so that you're not limited to a mere Standard attack in the second round; that way you can full-attack in round two. Killing the enemies quicker means you might not have to take any extra AoOs when you finally go back for your shield. Sure, you lose that AC, but sometimes offense is the best defense.
Now, if you decide you really need that AC more than you need quick offense, and if you're reasonably sure your foes have Combat Reflexes, then yeah, go for the shield first.