Trample question


Rules Questions


I know the question has been presented elsewhere (I can't finde where though), but how many targets can you and your mount trample in a given round? According to the rule, and being an overrun maneuver, it appears to be just one, but then why do the rules include "any target" on the wording and the plurals in the description?


I think that may be fluff.

Overrun is a standard action. So, 1/rnd.

Dark Archive

Any number of targets that are in your path on the way to the target of a charge are given free overrun attempts and trample damage if you overcome them.


Carbon D. Metric wrote:
Any number of targets that are in your path on the way to the target of a charge are given free overrun attempts and trample damage if you overcome them.

Is there any ruling about that or is it just an interpretation? I have been looking for a post about it but could not find any.


Hasselt Ar Mallarchus wrote:
Carbon D. Metric wrote:
Any number of targets that are in your path on the way to the target of a charge are given free overrun attempts and trample damage if you overcome them.
Is there any ruling about that or is it just an interpretation? I have been looking for a post about it but could not find any.

That is just an interpretation. Charge rules specifically state that you can't charge if your movement takes you through the square of any other creature.


Trample (Ex) As a full-round action, a creature with the trample ability can attempt to overrun any creature that is at least one size category smaller than itself. This works just like the overrun combat maneuver, but the trampling creature does not need to make a check—it merely has to move over opponents in its path. Targets of a trample take an amount of damage equal to the trampling creature's slam damage + 1-1/2 times its Strength modifier. Targets of a trample can make an attack of opportunity, but at a –4 penalty. If targets forgo an attack of opportunity, they can attempt to avoid the trampling creature and receive a Reflex save to take half damage. The save DC against a creature's trample attack is 10 + 1/2 the creature's HD + the creature's Strength modifier (the exact DC is given in the creature's descriptive text). A trampling creature can only deal trampling damage to each target once per round, no matter how many times its movement takes it over a target creature.

Emphasis mine, deal trample damage to as many creatures that you pass over during your movement, only once per target per round.

30' of movement, 4 targets, 4 x trample attacks. 1 per target!!


Bodrin, you're talking about the creature ability Trample. I believe the OP was referring to the Trample feat.

The overrun maneuver description is purely singular. Improved Overrun switches back and forth. Greater Overrun starts singular then switches to plural. Trample (the feat) sticks to singular. I didn't see any of them mention "any target" except on the Trample creature ability, which specifically states you can overrun multiple targets. Considering the inconsistency, and the fact that basic overrun only allows one target, I think they use the plurals in a generic sense without trying to imply you can overrun multiple foes. If that were true, they would specifically state it, as with the Trample creature ability Bodrin quoted.


bodrin wrote:

Trample (Ex) As a full-round action, a creature with the trample ability can attempt to overrun any creature that is at least one size category smaller than itself. This works just like the overrun combat maneuver, but the trampling creature does not need to make a check—it merely has to move over opponents in its path. Targets of a trample take an amount of damage equal to the trampling creature's slam damage + 1-1/2 times its Strength modifier. Targets of a trample can make an attack of opportunity, but at a –4 penalty. If targets forgo an attack of opportunity, they can attempt to avoid the trampling creature and receive a Reflex save to take half damage. The save DC against a creature's trample attack is 10 + 1/2 the creature's HD + the creature's Strength modifier (the exact DC is given in the creature's descriptive text). A trampling creature can only deal trampling damage to each target once per round, no matter how many times its movement takes it over a target creature.

Emphasis mine, deal trample damage to as many creatures that you pass over during your movement, only once per target per round.

30' of movement, 4 targets, 4 x trample attacks. 1 per target!!

I have a question about this ability. It isn't clear to me how far a creature with this ability can move as part of the full round action and make use of this ability (i.e., can you take a double move or only a single move?).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Trample question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.