Spectral Hand & Wands


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Can Spectral Hand be use in conjuction with wands?

[Edit: To be more clear... Can I cast a touch spell from a wand and then use Spectral Hand to deliver that spell?]


Zootcat wrote:
Can I cast a touch spell from a wand and then use Spectral Hand to deliver that spell?]

You will probably get both yes and no answers for this one, but the way I read it, it seems to be allowed.

Quote:

Activation: Wands use the spell trigger activation method,

so casting a spell from a wand is usually a standard action

So, it appears from this quote that you do indeed cast a spell from a wand. Altough I am sure someone will say no you don't cast the spell but rather you activate a magic item.

Liberty's Edge

I would say 'yes' to that.

Dark Archive

3.5 had actual verbage that equated the use of spell completion/trigger typed items as equivalent to casting a spell and thus by RAW the answer would be 100% yes. However, curiously that particular wording is absent in PF - wether it is intentionaly absent or not is a good question and I think at the heart of the question.

Liberty's Edge

But AFAIK, it doesn't say anywhere in the books that you can't.

Grand Lodge

Lyrax wrote:
But AFAIK, it doesn't say anywhere in the books that you can't.

it doesn't say in the rules that you can't tear your own arm off either and beat someone with it and attach it right back but most dms won't allow that either.

Using a wand is not casting a spell it's activating a magic item. No feats, spells, or any other actions can interact with that wand unless they are specficaly designed to do so. Spectral Hand is not.


Some call me Tim wrote:
Altough I am sure someone will say no you don't cast the spell but rather you activate a magic item.
LazarX wrote:
Using a wand is not casting a spell it's activating a magic item.

Thanks, I knew I could count on someone.

Liberty's Edge

LazarX wrote:
it doesn't say in the rules that you can't tear your own arm off either and beat someone with it and attach it right back but most dms won't allow that either.

Why not? I'd allow it. Of course, I'd use the normal rules for limb separation and re-attachment. ;-)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spectral Hand & Wands All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions