ZangRavnos
|
I have an inquiry about fighting with an off-hand without the Two-Weapon Fighting feat.
Basically, I've created an Arcane Duelist that uses a rapier and darts. I've run into a snag where I want to throw a dart at a distant enemy, but am currently wielding the rapier. To retrieve the dart from its storage is a move action, as is equipping any weapon. I would also have to sheath my rapier in order to do this, making it an action that will take at least a full round. Are any of the below scenario's possible?
Scenario A: Switch the rapier to the off hand and draw a dart as a move, throwing the dart as a standard.
Scenario B: Draw the dart with the off hand and throw the dart as a standard (NOT attacking with both rapier and dart, just the single dart throw)
The two-weapon fighting entry only describes penalties if you are using the off hand to make an EXTRA attack that round in addition to your primary weapon. If you are making your actual attack with your off-hand, does this penalty still apply even if you are not attacking additional times in that round?
I realize that Quick Draw can help remedy this problem, but if I can utilize currently existing rules without it, I would like to save myself a feat and go with something more useful like Point Blank Shot.
Thanks for any input ^_^ d
Have a Day
| DM_Blake |
It has been officially clarified here on the forums by Paizo staff (you can search for it if you'd like) that there is no such thing as handedness, and the term "off-hand" is only meaningful when you are wielding two weapons.
This means that your Scenario B is perfectly valid and you suffer no penalties for it. It does not matter whether you throw your dart with your right or left hand, as long as you're only throwing darts and not attacking/using that rapier in your other hand. So Scenario B is your winner. Throw darts all day with no TWF or Off-hand penalties.
As for Scenario A, I don't think there is any Rule, nor any official ruling on the forums, about what type of action is required to switch hands. I think many (maybe most) DMs allow it as a free action if you're not encumbered or holding something else. In that case, Scenario A will also work - check with your DM. Note that this is entirely unnecessary as Scenario B is official so you'll never need to do Scenario A unless you want to do it for roleplaying reasons, such as deciding your character is a southpaw and too uncoordinated with his weak hand to throw anything accurately. But that's just optional roleplaying fluff, good fun if you want to do it, but totally unnecessary by the rules.
ZangRavnos
|
It has been officially clarified here on the forums by Paizo staff (you can search for it if you'd like) that there is no such thing as handedness, and the term "off-hand" is only meaningful when you are wielding two weapons.
This means that your Scenario B is perfectly valid and you suffer no penalties for it. It does not matter whether you throw your dart with your right or left hand, as long as you're only throwing darts and not attacking/using that rapier in your other hand. So Scenario B is your winner. Throw darts all day with no TWF or Off-hand penalties.
As for Scenario A, I don't think there is any Rule, nor any official ruling on the forums, about what type of action is required to switch hands. I think many (maybe most) DMs allow it as a free action if you're not encumbered or holding something else. In that case, Scenario A will also work - check with your DM. Note that this is entirely unnecessary as Scenario B is official so you'll never need to do Scenario A unless you want to do it for roleplaying reasons, such as deciding your character is a southpaw and too uncoordinated with his weak hand to throw anything accurately. But that's just optional roleplaying fluff, good fun if you want to do it, but totally unnecessary by the rules.
Thanks for the quick response :)
Good to know that I don't have to officially worry about handedness anymore. I always just thought that ambidexterity was part of Two-Weapon fighting, though that's a skill based way back in 2E DnD. So glad that died. Anyway, thanks.