A Couple Of Rules Questions


Rules Questions


1. The Student of War PRC has the Know Your Enemy Ability which requires a move action to use.

Can the Student of War be moving while using this ability?

2. Flaming, frost and shock wepons become so on command.

Is there a duration on how long this lasts?

Can a player just state that it is always active?

3. Detonate Spell (APG)

Can casters use the Selective Spell Metamagic (APG) feat to exclude themselved from the automatic half damage they take?

Thanx!

Hawk

Edited: added a third question


1. Which product is the Student of War in?

2. The effects last until the wielder turns them off. Yes, a player can state them to always be active, but sheathing an active flaming sword could be hazardous :)


1. Seekers of Secrets

2. The listing for the energy specifically states that the fire/ cold/ electricity does not harm the wielder.

The issue is I am actually making my players activate the energy property. Now they almost never get a chance to waste a SA to activate it.

Thanx!

Hawk


Since the Student of War has to use a move action to study the foe, she can't also use that move action to move.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

1. Yes, but they give up their standard action to use two move actions
2. No duration, user controlled
3. Yes, because its an Area of Effect spell


1. A move action is almost never the same thing as moving, and it can almost never be done at the same time. It's a move action to load a crossbow, but that cannot be done while moving.

There are a few notable exceptions like drawing a weapon, which is a move action but if you have at least a BAB of 1 you are allowed to draw one weapon while you move. But when the rules make an exception like that, they explicitly state the exception in the new rule.

So while I'm not familiar with the Seekers of Secrets or the Student of War, I would say that since the class ability requires a Move action, then the general rule that you cannot perform Move actions while moving should be in effect unless that class ability says otherwise (which I assume it does not or you wouldn't have asked the question).

2. Here is an offical response by James Jacobs regarding your second point about energy weapons. So, really, you only need to make them activate it once. It stays active from then on, without harming the user.

However, it could questionably harm people near you, or have other unintended side effects. There's a whole lot more in that other thread, interesting points on both sides of the debate - so it might be fun to read more than just James' post.

3. Dunno bout number 3 because I don't have my APG yet :(


Thank you all very much for the responses.

I have an additional question regarding question 2.

Can you put more than 1 type of energy on a weapon?

I do not see anything that says you cannot.

If you can does that mean that you could command both energy types to be on at the same time?

Thanx!

Hawk


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Yep, you can have as many different energy types as you want, though you can't stack energy of the same type (get fire twice for 2d6). You can even have flaming frost weapons. :D


DM_Blake wrote:

1. A move action is almost never the same thing as moving, and it can almost never be done at the same time. It's a move action to load a crossbow, but that cannot be done while moving.

There are a few notable exceptions like drawing a weapon, which is a move action but if you have at least a BAB of 1 you are allowed to draw one weapon while you move. But when the rules make an exception like that, they explicitly state the exception in the new rule.

HOWEVER you could do the following:

Move action 1: Know thy enemy (reload crossbow/whatever)
Move action 2 (in place of standard action): Move up to speed.

Or visa versa.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / A Couple Of Rules Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.