Mounts with attacks, and the Ride-By-Attack Feat


Rules Questions

101 to 104 of 104 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Sovereign Court

And how does Wheeling Charge work with all of this?


I know this is kinda old, but I am making a Cavalier and this question came up... I felt like sharing my 2 cents of the wording of the feat which says:

"you may move and attack as if with a standard charge and then move again"

Breaking down this sentence you get:

"You get to move and attack as if with a standard charge..."
This allows your mount to attack at the end of the charge, just like it would in a normal charge

"...then move again"
This allows your mount to move again after it attacks.

Silver Crusade

This question was answered by a Designer back on the first page.

His title now says "Contributor", but when he made that post it was "Designer".


That post was made five years ago, well before the FAQ that established the entire way mounted charging works.

The point being that when you charge with Ride-by Attack, your mount charges too. Under the basic rules for a charge, your mount cannot move past the target of that charge, regardless of whether or not it makes an attack.
Either Ride-by Attack affects the movement of your mount or it doesn't. If it doesn't, it is completely nonfunctional, because your mount cannot move with you past the target of your charge under any circumstance. If it does, whether or not your mount chooses to take the attack at the end of its charge is irrelevant to its options for movement.

101 to 104 of 104 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mounts with attacks, and the Ride-By-Attack Feat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions