
![]() |

If a devil, say a Barbed Devil ( CR 11 ) successfully summons a second, is this still a CR 11 encounter as the summon is built in to the CR of the original monster, or is it now a CR 13 encounter ( 2 CR11 = 13 ) ? Trying to determine how to award XP from an encounter where this happened, and feedback is appreciated.

TheWhiteknife |

Yes, in most situations, it would still be a CR 11 fight, as the devil had to use an action to summon his buddy. Same as an NPC wizard casting a summon spell.
It could be ruled that, if the devil had already summoned his friend (fiend) beforehand and had to take no actions in combat to have his ally there, that you could award xp for the second one too.