Paladin "Lay on Hands" on another.....


Rules Questions


does it provoke an attack of opportunity?

If two paladins are fighting a bad guy and one paladin wants to ay hands on the other paladin... is it now a standard action rather than a swift action and does it provoke an attack of opportunity?


Probably does provoke an attack of opportunity for the first paladin if he wants to take a shot at paladin number 2..........

Not seeing it giving BBEG an AoO.

Of course I am often wrong (ie in disagreement with RAW).

Good luck finding out!


Scrogz wrote:
If two paladins are fighting a bad guy and one paladin wants to ay hands on the other paladin... is it now a standard action rather than a swift action and does it provoke an attack of opportunity?

Yes it is a standard action to lay hands on anyone other than the paladin's own body.

No it does not provoke. You'll note that this is a Supernatural ability, and the rules tell us:

Pathfider Core Rules wrote:

Supernatural Abilities (Su)

These can't be disrupted in combat and generally don't provoke attacks of opportunity. They aren't subject to spell resistance, counterspells, or dispel magic, and don't function in antimagic areas.

So it would only be an exception to "generally don't provoke" if there was explicit text within the description of Lay on Hands that says it provokes. Since there is no such text, the general rule I quoted applies.


When a Paladin tries to heal someone else, Lay on Hands is a standard action indeed (even when used on another Paladin).

However, Lay on Hands is indicated as a Supernatural ability. If you look at Table 8-2: Action in Combat (on page 183 of the Core Rulebook, or on the PRD under Combat -> Actions in Combat), you can see that a Supernatural ability is a standard action (usually) which does not provoke Attacks of Opportunity (last entry listed among the Standard actions).

Of course, if the Paladin leaves a threatened square to reach his injured companion, that action will provoke an AoO - but not the Lay on Hands act by itself.

Grand Lodge

As a Supernatural ability it would not provoke an AoO. However, you could rule that it functions similar to casting a Cure spell, which would provoke an AoO. By the rules, it does not.


Thanks!

I was pretty sure it did not but I thought I had better check with people smarter than me to make sure =)


I would like to point out that the act of touching an ally does indeed provoke an attack of opportunity. I'm unsure of how to cite my source for this one. It's in the table titled "Actions in Combat". It's the large table that lists what actions provoke attacks of opportunity:

Use a touch spell on up to 6 friends AoO: Yes.

While I realize it says "touch spell" the basic premise is the same. You are touching an ally to give them an effect. So basically, using a Cure Light Wounds spell and then touching an ally to deliver it will provoke. Why won't touching an ally for lay on hands provoke?

Grand Lodge

knightofstyx wrote:
Why won't touching an ally for lay on hands provoke?

Because it's a supernatural ability which specifically does not provoke. Not necessarily sensical, but thems the rules.


knightofstyx wrote:
Why won't touching an ally for lay on hands provoke?

Because it's not a touch spell.

Mark L. Chance
Spes Magna Games


But there's no difference between touching an ally with a touch spell and touching them with lay on hands.


I'm not saying that the ability provokes the AoO, I'm saying the act of touching the ally does.


knightofstyx wrote:
But there's no difference between touching an ally with a touch spell and touching them with lay on hands.

There's one key difference: lay on hands is not a touch spell.

Mark L. Chance
Spes Magna Games


knightofstyx wrote:
I'm not saying that the ability provokes the AoO, I'm saying the act of touching the ally does.

Please note the table says "Using a touch spell..." not "when using an ability..."


You'll also notice that there is a difference in symmetry with the ability.

Lay On Hands (Su): Beginning at 2nd level, a paladin can heal wounds (her own or those of others) by touch. Each day she can use this ability a number of times equal to 1/2 her paladin level plus her Charisma modifier. With one use of this ability, a paladin can heal 1d6 hit points of damage for every two paladin levels she possesses. Using this ability is a standard action, unless the paladin targets herself, in which case it is a swift action. Despite the name of this ability, a paladin only needs one free hand to use this ability.

Alternatively, a paladin can use this healing power to deal damage to undead creatures, dealing 1d6 points of damage for every two levels the paladin possesses. Using lay on hands in this way requires a successful melee touch attack and doesn't provoke an attack of opportunity. Undead do not receive a saving throw against this damage. Emphasis mine.

Why would they mention that specifically if the touching an ally didn't provoke? Would they not just leave the (Su) descriptor to spell it out?

Grand Lodge

Because they're not touching an ally, they are touching an enemy?


Lay on Hands on an ally does NOT, provoke an AoO, as properly explained by DM_Blake, for the reasons he detailed.

knightofstyx - The reason they specifically mention that using this against undead isn't an AoO is because that is essentially an unarmed attack, which WOULD provoke such an AoO otherwise (unless you have the feat).


Using lay on hands to harm an undead creature is much like using Cure Light Wounds to harm an undead creature. You're considered armed in each situation. Hence no AoO.

Someone please tell me how touching an ally to deliver a Cure Light Wounds spell is any different than touching an ally to deliver a Lay on Hands.

When used to harm they function exactly the same. Why the disconnect when they are used to heal?


knightofstyx wrote:
Using lay on hands to harm an undead creature is much like using Cure Light Wounds to harm an undead creature. You're considered armed in each situation. Hence no AoO.

Correct.

knightofstyx wrote:


Someone please tell me how touching an ally to deliver a Cure Light Wounds spell is any different than touching an ally to deliver a Lay on Hands.

The first involves the casting of a spell. The second does not. Casting spells can typically provoke AoO. Supernatural Abilities do not. The fact that the outcome is similar isn't relevant.


Paladin A and Paladin B are engaged with bad guy C.

If Paladin A casts Cure Light Wounds, he COULD provoke an AoO from bad guy C (whether he casts the spell on himself OR on his buddy).

From the SRD: "Generally, if you cast a spell, you provoke attacks of opportunity from threatening enemies"

It is the casting of the spell that could provoke, not the 'touching'.

If Paladin A uses his Lay on Hands ability, it doesn't provoke AoO.

Again, from the SRD: "Using a supernatural ability is usually a standard action (unless defined otherwise by the ability's description). Its use cannot be disrupted, does not require concentration, and does not provoke attacks of opportunity."


Wow I can't believe how off base this discussion is.

1:The premise that casting a cure spell and touching and ally provokes an attack of opportunity is incorrect.

p.185
Touch Spells in Combat: Many spells have a range of
touch. To use these spells, you cast the spell and then touch
the subject. In the same round that you cast the spell, you
may also touch (or attempt to touch) as a free action. You
may take your move before casting the spell, after touching
the target, or between casting the spell and touching the
target. You can automatically touch one friend or use the
spell on yourself, but to touch an opponent, you must
succeed on an attack roll.

2: The reference to AoO is to a full round action on table 8-2.

p.186
You can touch one friend as a standard action
or up to six friends as a full-round action.

Only the Full round action provokes the AoO.

Grand Lodge

knightofstyx wrote:
When used to harm they function exactly the same. Why the disconnect when they are used to heal?

Because LoH is a Supernatural ability. If you had Cure Light as a Supernatural ability, it would not provoke either.


Alright. So Snapshot's logic and reasoning has convinced me. Especially the second point. Thanks to everyone for beating me over the head with the "get smarter" stick.

Yet another reason to play paladin.


knightofstyx wrote:
Yet another reason to play paladin.

I'm playing one now - I'm impressed at what the PF paladin can do.

:)


knightofstyx wrote:

Alright. So Snapshot's logic and reasoning has convinced me. Especially the second point. Thanks to everyone for beating me over the head with the "get smarter" stick.

Yet another reason to play paladin.

No problem -- at least the stick did good and that's what matters :D

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Paladin "Lay on Hands" on another..... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions