Hold Person - Creature Type -- official stance?


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

In the description of hold person, it states if effect 1 humanoid creature. Would this include Monstrous Humanoids as well? Would this work on a harpy?

Dark Archive

Per the PRD

Quote:
Humanoid: boggard, bugbear, cloud giant, cyclops, dark creeper, dark stalker, derro, drow, drow noble, duergar, ettin, fire giant, frost giant, gnoll, goblin, hill giant, hobgoblin, kobold, lizardfolk, merfolk, ogre, orc, stone giant, storm giant, svirfneblin, tengu, troglodyte, troll, wererat, werewolf

Monstrous humanoid is a separate type from humanoid


Shar Tahl wrote:

In the description of hold person, it states if effect 1 humanoid creature. Would this include Monstrous Humanoids as well? Would this work on a harpy?

Nope just Humanoids of the various subtypes. Not the Monstrous kind.

Paizo Employee Creative Director

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Shar Tahl wrote:
In the description of hold person, it states if effect 1 humanoid creature. Would this include Monstrous Humanoids as well? Would this work on a harpy?

Nope. Hold person only affects humanoids.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Hold Person - Creature Type -- official stance? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.