Displacer Form and Elemental Body I


Rules Questions


Intro
I want to have these spells cast on my Wizard (displacer form then elemental body I), but I'm unsure what the end result would be.

Displacer form turns me into a displacer beast:
-Magical Beast type
-Low-light vision and 60' darkvision
-Large size
-STR is set to 18, DEX is set to 15, and CON is set to 16
-40' base land speed
-Natural armor bonus is set to +5
-I gain tentacle attacks, displacement, and resistance to ranged attacks.
-Upon casting displacer form, my gear melds into my displacer beast body and becomes nonfunctional.

Elemental body I lets me become a Small air elemental with these qualities:
-Low-light vision and 60' darkvision
-Small size
-+2 size bonus to DEX
-+2 natural armor bonus
-60' fly speed (perfect)
-I gain the whirlwind ability.

End Result
I normally can't have two or more polymorph effects on me concurrently, though displacer form may not be considered sucn an effect. (Saying displacer form isn't a polymorph effect is a major stretch.)


You cast the second one and the first one ends. You may choose not to be affected by the second one and keep the first one going, but why cast the spell then?

Also how are you casting the elemental form 1 while in the displacer form?

iirc the displacer form spell specifically is a polymorph spell.

The Exchange

What are you looking for here? If you ask a question you can get an answer but just posting ideas is not really asking anything.....you didn't even ask for an assessment of the post.


Apologies. The board cut me off.

Displacer form explicitly allows me to cast spells.

1: Can I be in displacer form and elemental body I simultaneously?

2: If I can, what are my stats?


1. No, see my above post.
2. Doesn't matter -- can't do it.


Displacer form is not explicitly a [Polymorph] spell. I assume it would count as one for this case, but I hoped for clarification.


Where is the spell Displacer Form found?

The Exchange

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
knightofstyx wrote:
Where is the spell Displacer Form found?

I had it right here, but it's not where I thought it was.

;-)


Displacer form is from Spell Compendium 67.


The issue is that there wasn't such a thing as the [Polymorph] sub-school in 3.5 (as far as I can remember.) That's an invention of Pathfinder.

It's only fair, and in the best interests of the game, that the Displacer Form spell also be from the [Polymorph] sub-school since that is what it is doing.

That would also mean that the following rule applies (emphasis mine):

You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell.

The Exchange

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
knightofstyx wrote:
The issue is that there wasn't such a thing as the [Polymorph] sub-school in 3.5 (as far as I can remember.) That's an invention of Pathfinder.

It's not actually, it was just revised into the game very late in the lifecycle of 3E, sort of 3.5.5.

It's fully described on p. 122 of the 3.5 D&D Rules Compendium from 2007.


Regardless, I think it's safe to say that both spells are polymorph spells and mutually exclusive.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Displacer Form and Elemental Body I All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.