azhrei_fje
|
Also note that it must be used as part of a full attack. If other attacks are not made, the bite is still at -5. Also, a barbarian with Greater Grapple (which allows a second grapple check each round as a move action) can only use the bite once.
Or at least, that's how I've had to rule it in order to tone down the Str 32 barbarian I have in my group!
| Caineach |
Also note that it must be used as part of a full attack. If other attacks are not made, the bite is still at -5. Also, a barbarian with Greater Grapple (which allows a second grapple check each round as a move action) can only use the bite once.
Or at least, that's how I've had to rule it in order to tone down the Str 32 barbarian I have in my group!
From what I can tell by the wording, if he has greater grapple, he gets 1 bite attack if he succeeds the first check but 2 if he fails it. This is because he gets the bite before attempting to maintain the grapple, and if he succeeds the first grapple check his second is not a check to maintain. This is a horrible cludge, and I would give it twice a round personally, but completely understand you giving it to him once, since grappling barbarians are nasty enough.
chopswil
|
the Stat Block from GMG p. 306
Cannibal CR 1
XP 400
Human barbarian 2
CN Medium humanoid
Init +1; Senses Perception +6
Defense
AC 13, touch 9, flat-footed 12 (+4 armor, +1 Dex, –2 rage)
hp 25 (2d12+12)
Fort +8, Ref +1, Will +3
Defensive Abilities uncanny dodge
Offense
Speed 40 ft.
Melee greatclub +6 (1d10+6) and bite +1 (1d4+2) or
unarmed strike +6 (1d3+4) and bite +1 (1d4+2) or
bite +6 (1d4+4 plus +2 bonus on grapple)
Ranged throwing axe +3 (1d6+4)
Special Attacks rage (9 rounds/day), rage power (animal fury)
Tac tics
Base Statistics When not raging, the barbarian’s statistics
are AC 15, touch 11, flat-footed 14; hp 21; Fort +6, Will +1;
Melee greatclub +4 (1d10+3) or unarmed strike +4 (1d3+2),
no bite; Ranged throwing axe +3 (1d6+2); Str 15, Con 16;
CMB +4 (+6 grapple); Climb +4, Swim +4
Statistics
Str 19, Dex 13, Con 20, Int 10, Wis 12, Cha 8
Base Atk +2; CMB +6 (+8 grapple); CMD 15 (17 vs. grapple)
Feats Improved Grapple, Improved Unarmed Strike
Skills Climb +6, Handle Animal +4, Perception +6, Survival +6,
Swim +6
Languages Common
SQ fast movement
Gear hide armor, greatclub, throwing axes (2)
azhrei_fje
|
I don't agree that the attack can be used twice. It says the bite "can be used" to maintain the grapple, but it doesn't say that it can be used more than once per round and in fact, requiring a full attack implies that it cannot be used more than once per round. It would have to be an iterative attack for that. (Barring an AoO or similar exception.) IMO, anyway.
It's a natural attack. The section on natural attacks in the Combat chapter of the PF RPG will help.
Um, it's not written that way. Do you have a quote that says otherwise?
The description says:
Animal Fury (Ex): While raging, the barbarian gains a bite attack. If used as part of a full attack action, the bite attack is made at the barbarian's full base attack bonus –5. If the bite hits, it deals 1d4 points of damage (assuming the barbarian is Medium; 1d3 points of damage if Small) plus half the barbarian's Strength modifier. A barbarian can make a bite attack as part of the action to maintain or break free from a grapple. This attack is resolved before the grapple check is made. If the bite attack hits, any grapple checks made by the barbarian against the target this round are at a +2 bonus.
I'm not saying I disagree. And in fact, I do treat it as such (since that prevents using it with manufactured weapons at the same time). But nowhere do the RAW support your statement.
I will agree that the title implies it's a natural attack, and the fact that it's Ex and takes a -5 (secondary natural weapon) penalty helps, but the description doesn't say.
| Majuba |
I believe the Barbarian "Bite" attack is not listed specifically as a natural attack because Bites are primary attacks that (unless used with weapons) do not have a -5 penalty and use full strength. So the specific language essentially makes it a permanently secondary natural attack - declaring it such would add confusion though since that's not how a Bite attack normally works.
| Carpy DM |
I believe the Barbarian "Bite" attack is not listed specifically as a natural attack because Bites are primary attacks that (unless used with weapons) do not have a -5 penalty and use full strength. So the specific language essentially makes it a permanently secondary natural attack - declaring it such would add confusion though since that's not how a Bite attack normally works.
The fact that it is a secondary attack doesn't mean that it's not a natural attack. The natural attack rules themselves note that the specifics of an attack don't always follow the general rules, and that such exceptions are noted in the creature's description (the example given is that dragons, despite having multiple natural attacks, always add 1 1/2 times their Strength bonus to their bite damage). That the barbarian's bite is a secondary attack when most bites are primary attacks doesn't change the basic fact that bites are natural attacks, period.