Nets and two cantrips


Rules Questions

The Exchange

I have a question regarding the use of a net and using two cantrips.

1. Is a 'burst' net 'broken'. Is it reduced to 0 hp, half, some other quantity. Basically, I'm assuming a burst net is repairable with mending, but just want to be sure and determine # of castings necessary to repair the net.

2. Can prestidigitation fold a net? If so, would it take same time as proficient user (2 rounds) or could it be done in 1 round?


Clever.

The Additional Rules may be a little unclear, but I reckon that a burst item is destroyed. Rather than dealing damage to the object to destroy it, you're attempting to destroy it in one action.

I would also reckon that if the parts of a destroyed net are to be repaired in this way, they would have to be brought together. In any case, a destroyed net hanging off a person would likely be considered an attended object, and they would get a saving throw to resist.

A net is a 6-lb item, and you'd have to be 6th level to affect it with mending. Given that prestidigitation can only slowly lift 1 pound of nonliving material, it seems like it would be very difficult to use it in combat to re-fold a net.

The Exchange

Goblin Witchlord wrote:

Clever.

...
I would also reckon that if the parts of a destroyed net are to be repaired in this way, they would have to be brought together. In any case, a destroyed net hanging off a person would likely be considered an attended object, and they would get a saving throw to resist.

Wasn't even thinking of trying to mend it while they were breaking it. Although that would be neat, I agree that it doesn't seem like you could do that given the single action nature of "breaking". I was more looking to not have to replace the net after each combat and instead, mend it. Which, assuming high enough level of mending, seems doable.

Goblin Witchlord wrote:
Given that prestidigitation can only slowly lift 1 pound of nonliving material, it seems like it would be very difficult to use it in combat to re-fold a net.

Yeah, that was my thinking, but I was hoping I was wrong because it would be cooler to have it fold itself.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Nets and two cantrips All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.