Mithral and Shields


Rules Questions


Hey, everyone! This is my first time posting on these forums. As a long time player of Dungeons and Dragons (and now, a HUGE fan of Pathfinder), I have a relatively vexing question about shields, bashing, and Mithral (or potentially Darkwood).

Can you bash with a tower shield if it's made of Mithral?

Well, Mithral says that armor made of it counts as an armor type one step lower (Heavy to Medium, Medium to Light, etc). If that is the case, and assuming that Tower Shields aren't usable as bashing weapons due to weight/unwieldyness (made-up word?), then perhaps Mithral can remedy that (Or Darkwood?)

What's everyone's opinion on the matter, or is there some official ruling?


Shields are not armor. So really by raw this is a no, but I could see a DM letting it slide.


Tower shields don't bash because of overall size, not weight, so using mithral would make it lighter but not less cumbersome from size.

Grand Lodge

By RAW, no you can't. By houserule, whatever.


Okay, then my second question:

Mithral Heavy Shield - does it count as a one-handed weapon or a light weapon?


While I would House Rule it is able to Bash if made of Mithril, I would make it a One Handed Weapon. Something that large in my opinion wouldn't be useable as a light weapon.

Hope some of this helps

Have Fun out there!!

~ W ~


SwallowtheSun wrote:

Okay, then my second question:

Mithral Heavy Shield - does it count as a one-handed weapon or a light weapon?

I'm not positive, but I think it's still a one-handed weapon.

"In the case of weapons, this lighter weight does not change a weapon's size category or the ease with which it can be wielded (whether it is light, one-handed, or two-handed)."

So assuming that using a shield to bash as a weapon falls under this category, it would still be classified as a one handed weapon, albeit half as heavy.

I wish I am wrong though, as would my current shield bashing cleric.

(Bah, ninja'ed)


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
SwallowtheSun wrote:

Okay, then my second question:

Mithral Heavy Shield - does it count as a one-handed weapon or a light weapon?

Mithral has no effect on how an item as wielded beyond the effects stated. (+2 max dex, -2 armor check, half weight, armor treated as one category lighter.)

It doesn't make a longspear a one handed weapon, your longsword a light weapon, nor your heavy shield a light weapon.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mithral and Shields All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions