Vital Strike and AOO


Rules Questions


When you make an AOO its an Attack and Vital Strike says when you make a single attack. So does vital strike work with AOO's? I dont think so but a couple players at the table last night told me to ask.


Vital strike is a "Attack action" which is a type of standard action. So no you can not as vital strike is a standard action to use.

Liberty's Edge

Joey Virtue wrote:
When you make an AOO its an Attack and Vital Strike says when you make a single attack. So does vital strike work with AOO's? I dont think so but a couple players at the table last night told me to ask.

I see nothing stopping a player from doing so. The wording seems to imply that you could at least.


except the fact Attack action is a standard action and AoO's are not standard actions.


There has been flip-flopping on the issue from Piazo as to whether or not Vital Strike is a special attack or an add that restricts you to one attack. I don't think its broken to do so. Hopefully this will be cleared up in an FAQ one day. James and Jason made opposing rulings. I know Jason is supposed to be in charge of rules, but I dont know which one is really in charge(has more pull). James's statement which was made last makes it seem like an add-on. Jason's ruling makes it its own standard action.


The "attack action" wording used a few places really make things unclear and muddy up the waters needlessly really. It has been stated by both at one point or another an "attack action" is just a combat standard action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Vital Strike and AOO All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions