2H weapons and cmb / cmd / disarm


Rules Questions


Im looking for a clear answer on if a 2h weapon gives you a bonus to your cmb/cmd like it did in 3.5 .I have been searching the messageboards and have only found debate. Anyone know if they released an official word on this issue and where i can find it? I know there are weapons that are 2h that have properties like disarm for the ranseur but if im trying to disarm a dagger from a human and im a half elf using a ranseur do i get more of a bonus for me using 2h wep? Also can i disarm magic items like cloaks or brooches or something like that or does it have to be a weapon? I know sunder can hit other items but if i use a polearm and want to swipe someones cloak off then hurl it 3 squares away using greater disarm why cant i do it? Thank you all in advance for your reply and input.

RPG Superstar 2011 Top 4

I can't find anything in Pathfinder that says a 2-handed weapon would give you a bonus to disarming.

Regarding the type of item that can be disarmed;

Disarm wrote:
If your attack is successful, your target drops one item it is carrying of your choice (even if the item is wielded with two hands).

This means you can only make them drop an item in their hands.

Sunder explicitly says you can attack an item they are wearing as well.

Sunder wrote:
You can attempt to sunder an item held or worn by your opponent as part of an attack action in place of a melee attack.


Scipion del Ferro wrote:

I can't find anything in Pathfinder that says a 2-handed weapon would give you a bonus to disarming.

Regarding the type of item that can be disarmed;

Disarm wrote:
If your attack is successful, your target drops one item it is carrying of your choice (even if the item is wielded with two hands).

This means you can only make them drop an item in their hands.

Sunder explicitly says you can attack an item they are wearing as well.

Sunder wrote:
You can attempt to sunder an item held or worn by your opponent as part of an attack action in place of a melee attack.

thank you at least i got 1 thing clarified. I wish someone would chime in on an official response to the 2h thing, but thanks for the post.

Scarab Sages

Calculating CMB and/or CMD doesn't take weapon size into account.

Part of what pathfinder did was reconfigure the way weapon sizes were stated, and part of the process of doing that and adding in CMB's ended up in the removal of that particular bonus.

The only extra bonuses you can get on specific CMB/CMD rolls are with feats and specific weapons that grant a bonus.

If you're having trouble with someone trying to use those bonuses, just tell him to point out in the book where it says they exist.

Because they don't anymore.

As for tossing their cloak away...

You're looking at sundering an item. If you succeed on sundering it, you don't need to knock it away because you've already given it the broken condition and/or you destroy it :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / 2H weapons and cmb / cmd / disarm All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions