Saving Throw DCs -- probably a really stupid question


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

I feel like this is probably supposed to be self-explanatory, but I don't understand and I can't seem to find the answer.

When a poison, for example, says the "saving throw DC is Charisma-based," what does that mean? Where would I find the answer?


aatea wrote:

I feel like this is probably supposed to be self-explanatory, but I don't understand and I can't seem to find the answer.

When a poison, for example, says the "saving throw DC is Charisma-based," what does that mean? Where would I find the answer?

This means that in order to determine what the save DC of the effect is, you must look up the Charisma bonus of the monster in question. Generally speaking, a special attack from a monster has a DC set at 10 + 1/2 the monster's HD + relevant ability score modifier. For many magical abilities, it's Charisma. So if the monster has been affected by an eagle's splendor spell or took Charisma damage from poison, the save DC of the effect should change to account for this. This info is in the Bestiary somewhere, can't say where without the book handy.

Liberty's Edge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 16, RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16

Ninja'd by Lathiira. Save DC is 10 + 1/2 creature's hit dice + relevant ability modifier. Charisma-based means that the relevant ability modifier is Charisma. Important if the creature's Charisma changes.

Especially important to know when advancing a creature's hit dice or when applying a template, since changes to hit dice or the relevant ability modifier change the save DC of the ability.


Hmmm, we really need some kind of sticky for this - I see this question about once/week on the forums.

It is rather confusing in the RAW, so I have complete understanding and sympathy for players needing clarification, and since that clarification is difficult to glean from the RAW, maybe the forums should offer a simple and easy-to-find reference for it.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
Charlie Bell wrote:

Ninja'd by Lathiira. Save DC is 10 + 1/2 creature's hit dice + relevant ability modifier. Charisma-based means that the relevant ability modifier is Charisma. Important if the creature's Charisma changes.

Especially important to know when advancing a creature's hit dice or when applying a template, since changes to hit dice or the relevant ability modifier change the save DC of the ability.

Aha! See I thought this changed the PC's saving throw by using the Charisma modifier instead of Constitution for Fortitude. I'm glad I asked!

Thank you!!


aatea wrote:

Aha! See I thought this changed the PC's saving throw by using the Charisma modifier instead of Constitution for Fortitude. I'm glad I asked!

Thank you!!

I used to think the exact same thing. *grin*

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Saving Throw DCs -- probably a really stupid question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions