| Xenh |
This question may seem ridiculous, and the answer may be blatantly obvious, but it has plagued me for awhile...
How much control do spellcasters have over their spells after they have left their fingertips?
Now I am not talking about concentration spells here.
A couple examples:
- Could a sorceress end her own polymorph without a dispel?
- Could a wizard send a summoned minion at their foe and then send them back from whence they came before they get to the target?
I appreciate any assistance, or viewpoints others might bring to the table.
| Kakarasa |
Polymorph that isn't baneful can be ended as a full-round action. As far as the wizard goes, the question is how far away is the foe or how long does it take to get to them?
EDIT: Polymorph and greater polymorph are with willing creatures and end with this.
The subject may choose to resume its normal form as a full-round action; doing so ends the spell for that subject.
Baneful polymorph or polymorph any object are different though... but I can't see many reasons the sorceress would do that to herself.
| DM_Blake |
(D) Dismissible: If the duration line ends with “(D),” you can dismiss the spell at will. You must be within range of the spell's effect and must speak words of dismissal, which are usually a modified form of the spell's verbal component. If the spell has no verbal component, you can dismiss the effect with a gesture. Dismissing a spell is a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
A spell that depends on concentration is dismissible by its very nature, and dismissing it does not take an action, since all you have to do to end the spell is to stop concentrating on your turn.
Since the duration of Polymorph is "1 min/level (D)" then the wizard can dismiss it as a stand action at will, any time you want. This is also true of Greater Polymorph. Baleful Polymorph is permanent so the wizard cannot simply end the spell; it must be dispelled. And Polymorph any Object "works like Greater Polymorph" but has its own weird rules for duration; however, since Greater Polymorph is dismissable (D), and Polymorph Any Object doesn't explicitly state that it is not dismissable, then I believe this falls under "works like Greater Polymorph" so it should be dismissable.
It attacks your opponents to the best of its ability. If you can communicate with the creature, you can direct it not to attack, to attack particular enemies, or to perform other actions.
So, if the wizard speaks a language that the summoned creature can understand, and if that creature has enough intelligence to understand language (higher than INT 2), then the wizard can give it commands - as long as the creature is within earshot.
However:
Creatures you conjure usually—but not always—obey your commands.
So those commands are usually, but not always, obeyed.
| Xenh |
Polymorph that isn't baneful can be ended as a full-round action. As far as the wizard goes, the question is how far away is the foe or how long does it take to get to them?
I appreciate the quick reply.
The subject can go back to their old form (non-baleful version), but does the caster who applied the spell, both for the permanent duration baleful polymorph and the other versions, have the ability to cancel their own spell?
Let's say it takes the summoned minion 3 rounds to run to the target, am I able to cancel my own spell early? Or when I summon a dire ape to go get my ale from the barkeep, as a level 10 wizard, am I stuck with a smelly ape for the next minute?
| Kakarasa |
I forgot to mention that if it was her spell she could dismiss it... thanks DM_Blake.
Xenh, when you said not concentration spells, did you mean not concentrating to maintain or on that can be dismissed? If it's the later, DM_Blake got it, but if it's the former, can you elaborate?
EDIT: Just got your post... 5 seconds apart... :)
| Xenh |
Since the duration of Polymorph is "1 min/level (D)" then the wizard can dismiss it as a stand action at will, any time you want. This is also true of Greater Polymorph. Baleful Polymorph is permanent so the wizard cannot simply end the spell; it must be dispelled. And Polymorph any Object "works like Greater Polymorph" but has its own weird rules for duration; however, since Greater Polymorph is dismissable (D), and Polymorph Any Object doesn't explicitly state that it is not dismissable, then I believe this falls under "works like Greater Polymorph" so it should be dismissable.
Perfect thanks, exactly what I was looking for : )
| Xenh |
I forgot to mention that if it was her spell she could dismiss it... thanks DM_Blake.
Xenh, when you said not concentration spells, did you mean not concentrating to maintain or on that can be dismissed? If it's the later, DM_Blake got it, but if it's the former, can you elaborate?
DM_Blake got it, thanks.
I appreciate the assistance from both of you : )
| DM_Blake |
Kakarasa wrote:Polymorph that isn't baneful can be ended as a full-round action. As far as the wizard goes, the question is how far away is the foe or how long does it take to get to them?I appreciate the quick reply.
The subject can go back to their old form (non-baleful version), but does the caster who applied the spell, both for the permanent duration baleful polymorph and the other versions, have the ability to cancel their own spell?
Let's say it takes the summoned minion 3 rounds to run to the target, am I able to cancel my own spell early? Or when I summon a dire ape to go get my ale from the barkeep, as a level 10 wizard, am I stuck with a smelly ape for the next minute?
Read my post regarding Dismissible.
Both Summon Monster and Summon Nature's Ally have durations of "1 round/level (D)" so you can dismiss your summoned creature as a standard action before the spell expires.
Although, your typical barkeep isn't likely to pour an ale for a dire ape - he would probably chase it out of his bar using whatever weapons he keeps at hand behind his bar (or if he's not a tough, brave barkeep, he'll probably run for his life - dire apes can be awfully scary). And then when the ape is gone, he would chase you out of his bar for summoning dangerous (and smelly) animals in his establishment.