Cavalier vs. Freedom of Movement


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Does Freedom of Movement negate the effects of Stand Still/Stem the Tide (under Order of the Shield abilities)? By my reading it does, as FoM allows the affected character "to move and attack normally for the duration of the spell". However my player thinks it shouldn't let the enemy continue movement. I houseruled it for the night (we were in the middle of a rather big boss fight) with the note to look into it and the text is kind of annoyingly vague. Thoughts?


Well, can someone under a FoM spell be tripped, grappled, and bull rushed? I would rule that the Stem the Tide ability to be similar to those. The affected creature can move normally next turn, so it isn't a permanent stop.


Jason Ellis 350 wrote:
Well, can someone under a FoM spell be tripped, grappled, and bull rushed?

It specifies that Combat Maneuver checks to grapple automatically fail, and that the person under FoM automatically makes all such checks to escape (as they also succeed automatically on all Escape Artist checks).

Quote:
I would rule that the Stem the Tide ability to be similar to those.

Which was my reasoning as well. The text just doesn't specify it, which was what I think was causing the confusion.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cavalier vs. Freedom of Movement All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions