Bracers of Armor + Wildshape


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Does the bonus from the bracers transfer to the wildshape? It states it creates an effect around the wearer in the description, so it would be something that melded with the form.


Without a feat or some kind of special version of the Bracers, no. All equipment carried or worn is absorbed into your form and does not function.

I houserule that worn items that could reasonably put onto the animal shape may remain at the caster's choice, like a necklace and maybe bracers.


Kelso wrote:
Without a feat or some kind of special version of the Bracers, no. All equipment carried or worn is absorbed into your form and does not function.

Not all your equipment, constant bonuses like Belt of P. Perfection, Headbands, ring of protection or the Necklace of NA remain active while you are in your animal form.


You lose any armor bonuses, like that gained from Bracers of Armor, unless the armor has the Wild special property, which can be applied to Bracers. It's expensive, though, since that property is a +3 equivalent.


In my opinion, any equipment you wear that could also be worn by the form you assume should continue to function (avoiding silly moments like "I take off all my gear, then wild shape, then put it back on").

Although that would, of course, be a houserule. The rules state:

When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor bonuses, which cease to function). Items that require activation cannot be used while you maintain that form. ... If your new form does not cause your equipment to meld into your form, the equipment resizes to match your new size.


I guess I'm still getting used to all the little differences from 3.5 to PRPG. :P


Are wrote:

In my opinion, any equipment you wear that could also be worn by the form you assume should continue to function (avoiding silly moments like "I take off all my gear, then wild shape, then put it back on").

Although that would, of course, be a houserule...

No, it functions like this already. All your permanent items still work except the ac bonus of armor if that hasn't the "wild" enhancement (the other advantages of, say, fortification armor still work).

Think of it, if you took off your armor, your staff and your, say, Wands - would they be of any use for you in cat/dog/bird/fire elemental form?

No they wouldn't and thus the rule is very elegant (they just forgot shields though - I rule that they also do not give an bonus to ac in another form).


MicMan wrote:


Think of it, if you took off your armor, your staff and your, say, Wands - would they be of any use for you in cat/dog/bird/fire elemental form?

No, they wouldn't. But I said "that could also be worn by the form you assume". A medium-sized Dragon could easily wear Bracers of Armor, for instance, so I would rule that the bracers would still function if you wild shaped into such a creature.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bracers of Armor + Wildshape All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions