Witch's Hex (Evil Eye)


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

Is a witch's Evil Eye hex considered mind-affecting. According to the description it affects the mind, but I have a character that is saying since it's not specifically listed as "mind-affecting," like spell descriptions are, then it's not a mind-affect.

Opinions?


If it's not listed as mind affecting then it isn't.

Evil Eye is not listed as mind affecting (if it should be or not isn't the question it currently is not ) and therefore it isn't a mind affecting ability -- if an undead or golem fail the save throw they would be affected by this ability.


Abraham spalding wrote:

If it's not listed as mind affecting then it isn't.

Evil Eye is not listed as mind affecting (if it should be or not isn't the question it currently is not ) and therefore it isn't a mind affecting ability -- if an undead or golem fail the save throw they would be affected by this ability.

The golems in the Bestiary are immune to magic and thus to most supernatural abilities. Other constructs might be affected though.

The Exchange Contributor, RPG Superstar 2008 Top 6

The Grandfather wrote:


The golems in the Bestiary are immune to magic and thus to most supernatural abilities. Other constructs might be affected though.

If you go down to the special ability block for golems, they're actually only immune to spells and spell-like abilitiess that allow spell resistance. So some spells and all suspernatural abilities have the potential to work on golems (there may be other reasons why a golem's immune to a SU than their immunity to magic).


Russ Taylor wrote:


If you go down to the special ability block for golems, they're actually only immune to spells and spell-like abilitiess that allow spell resistance.

I stand corrected.


Whether they will change the fluff or the effect for the final version, but I hope they fix one. This was asked multiple times durring the playtest. Someone on Paizo's staff said they would make sure it got addressed before the APG came out. The answer I have is that the current wording allows it to work on just about anything.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Witch's Hex (Evil Eye) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions