Clarification on weapons size vs creature size


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Here is the PRD rule...

***

Inappropriately Sized Weapons: A creature can't make optimum use of a weapon that isn't properly sized for it. A cumulative –2 penalty applies on attack rolls for each size category of difference between the size of its intended wielder and the size of its actual wielder. If the creature isn't proficient with the weapon, a –4 nonproficiency penalty also applies.

The measure of how much effort it takes to use a weapon (whether the weapon is designated as a light, one-handed, or two-handed weapon for a particular wielder) is altered by one step for each size category of difference between the wielder's size and the size of the creature for which the weapon was designed. For example, a Small creature would wield a Medium one-handed weapon as a two-handed weapon. If a weapon's designation would be changed to something other than light, one-handed, or two-handed by this alteration, the creature can't wield the weapon at all.

***

Now, I was making a Gnome Barbarian. I was seeing him with a man sized two handed weapon. Would that be impossible or would he have the -2 Inappropriately Sized weapon penalty?


I'd go with you can't use it, unless your DM allows Monkey Grip or allows you to house rule a similar feat.

Scarab Sages

By RAW, the best a gnome could wield (without any special feats) would be a medium one-handed weapon. The gnome would wield it in two hands with a -2 penalty on the attack role.

If your DM allows Monkey Grip, then the gnome could wield a medium two-handed weapon in two-hands with a -2.

Liberty's Edge

What if he were using a medium sized Bastard Sword? They are one handed exotic/two handed-martial. So sized up it, would it be exotic two handed?


Shar Tahl wrote:
What if he were using a medium sized Bastard Sword? They are one handed exotic/two handed-martial. So sized up it, would it be exotic two handed?

Yes. In fact, Amiri the iconic barbarian uses a large bastard sword.

Liberty's Edge

great! I want him to have a weapon taller than him ; )


Shar Tahl wrote:
great! I want him to have a weapon taller than him ; )

How will he carry it?

Grand Lodge

Lyingbastard wrote:
Shar Tahl wrote:
great! I want him to have a weapon taller than him ; )
How will he carry it?

The same way you carry 10-poles and ladders?


I'd think that if he had exotic weapon proficiency (bastard sword), he could wield a medium sized bastard sword in two hands, doing 1d10 damage, albeit with a -2 to attacks. Seems like a waste of a feat though. He could wield a small greatsword in two hands without spending a feat or taking the -2 to attacks with it, and still be doing 1d10 damage.


A small greatsword would be 1d8 damage, not 1d10. I actually did this exact thing in a previous campaign: a gnome paladin who wielded a dwarven war-axe. He had a maxed out Use Magic Device, and had an enlarge person wand, so for most battles he was medium wielding a large dwarven war-axe which did 2d8 damage. Quite a mini-bruiser. Add to that the fact that we were fighting Evil Outsiders almost exclusively, and it was beta, so he had the whole overhand-chop feat tree. His Smite-Evil/Devastating Blow attacks were truly devastating.


No it does 1d10.

Look at the chart on p. 143 of the CRB. It gives the weapon damage for small weapons right there. Its the same damage as it was in 3.5 as well.


You are right, a greatsword or greataxe does d10 if it is small. However, if you cast enlarge person on yourself, they become 2d6 and d12 respectively, whereas a medium bastard sword or dwarven war axe become 2d8 when you are enlarged. A significant gain in my eyes.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Clarification on weapons size vs creature size All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions