Touch Attack, Weapon Focus?


Rules Questions

Dark Archive

If I wanted to take a Weapon Focus that would effect touch attacks, would that be "unarmed strike"? It seems like this would be the most logical choice, but I'm not sure what the rules are for touch attacks( they specifically mention 'rays' in the PF Core ).

Thanks in advance!


in the complete arcane, touch spells and ranged spells where added to the list of weapons that can have weapon focus.

based on wording in the PF core, NO.
it would have to say touch spells, since unarmed strike is not the same as a touch attack, and rays fall under ranged touch.


It would work if you "charged" your unarmed strike with that spell, however. You have to hit the higher, normal AC - but then you simultaneously Boot them in the Head and deliver that harm spell. One failed save is all that stands between a nasty Boot to the Head and a truly spectacular Boot to the Head.

Makes a Monk's Robe worth it just for the free 1d8 improved unarmed strike, IMO.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Touch Attack, Weapon Focus? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.