Domain Spells and Casting Components


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens Subscriber

So, does a cleric need a component pouch to cast a domain spell that requires a material component?(Fireball) Or does that change to a Divne, or Divine Focus component?


A Cleric needs a spell component pouch to cast any spell with a Material component (but not one with an Arcane Material component). Note that there are plenty of divine spells with Material components. All Clerics should have spell component pouches.

Scarab Sages

Zurai's got it right :)

Just to get a little more specific about it, in case you're curious, check out page 213.

Components:
Material component consists of one or more physical substances or objects that are annihilated in the casting process. Assume you have all you need if you have your spell component pouch.

This will show up as M in the description.

Focus:
Not consumed. If no price is given, assume you have it if you have your spell component pouch.

This will show up as F

Divine Foucus:
Similar to a focus, but with connotations to your religious background.

Shows up as DF

Now, here's where it's interesting. In the components line, if the items are listed as F/DF or M/DF, then the arcane version has the focus or material component, while the divine version just uses the divine focus.

An example of this would be Bull's Strength.

Under the components, it has listed V,S, M/DF

This means it has verbal and somatic components for both. Arcane casters will have a material component, while divine casters would use their divine focus.

Either way, with a spell component pouch, you've got what you need. Without your pouch, you can't cast it. So best to keep it handy.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Domain Spells and Casting Components All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions