Domain spells and scribe scrolls


Rules Questions


Hi, I tried to search topic about this but cannot found one answering to this question.

This topic came around last time we played our SD campaing. Druid with Fire domain asked can he make scroll of fireball because fireball is one of his spells and I couldn't give him straight answer. I think that domain spells are expection to normal spells [like cleric can't change them to inflict/cure spells for example] and thus he couldn't do it. But I can't find statement from rulebook or from PSRD.

Penny for your thoughts about this. I'm not the GM but I know rules the best so my part is tell him can he do it or not.


Blue_Hill wrote:
This topic came around last time we played our SD campaing. Druid with Fire domain asked can he make scroll of fireball because fireball is one of his spells and I couldn't give him straight answer. I think that domain spells are expection to normal spells [like cleric can't change them to inflict/cure spells for example] and thus he couldn't do it. But I can't find statement from rulebook or from PSRD.

I don't remmeber if I read it here or somewhere else...but...

The explaination I thought best was that yes, he can scribe the scroll, but it will be a divine scroll of fireball. Meaning, that if a divine caster has fireball on his list (aka through the fire domain) then he could cast the scroll as normal, but if any other caster (divine or arcane) tried to cast it, they would have to make a use magic device check.


If a character can cast the spell, then he can scribe a scroll of it, provided he has the scribe scroll feat and can spend enough time and gold to make the scroll.

As shalandar said, it will still be a divine scroll, even if its a spell thats normally an arcane-only spell. So a wizard picking up the fireball scroll that was made by the druid wouldn't not be able to use the scroll because its divine, and the wizard would have to rely on the Use Magic Device skill to try and cast the divine fireball spell off the scroll.


Thanks for your answers. That is good point that only druid can use those scrolls. It isn't too powerful because it will cost more to make scrolls with higher castel level than five. But thanks to you both.

Shadow Lodge

Blue_Hill wrote:
Thanks for your answers. That is good point that only druid can use those scrolls.

Or Cleric with the Fire Domain, which is probably more common. I'm sure there are some Oracles of Flame, and probably more options out there as well.

Something to note, though, if a player is wanting to make scrolls. You only get one Domain spell per spell level per day. So, for the most part, they would only be able to scribe 1 Fireball scroll a Day, and it would "be used" that day for making the scroll. There is a way around this, for higher level casters, though. You can prepair lower level spells in higher level slots, and that includes Domain Slots.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Domain spells and scribe scrolls All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions