Whirlwind Special Attack


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

When an air elemental changes into a whirlwind, does its size change? For example, a small air elemental using Whirlwind can become a column of air 5 ft. at it's base with a height maximum of 20 ft. (PFB, 121). Since a Whirlwind's width is half it's height at it's peak, does this change it's size to Large?

This is only important because a Whirlwind special attack can only damage a creature one or more sizes smaller. If the size doesn't change, then an air elemental doesn't pose a threat with it's Whirlwind special attack until it is Large against a Medium creature.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Arnim Thayer wrote:

When an air elemental changes into a whirlwind, does its size change? For example, a small air elemental using Whirlwind can become a column of air 5 ft. at it's base with a height maximum of 20 ft. (PFB, 121). Since a Whirlwind's width is half it's height at it's peak, does this change it's size to Large?

This is only important because a Whirlwind special attack can only damage a creature one or more sizes smaller. If the size doesn't change, then an air elemental doesn't pose a threat with it's Whirlwind special attack until it is Large against a Medium creature.

Or against a Halfing ot Gnome.

I'd say it doesn't change the size as the power doesn't specifically say it does and changing size affects so many things that I'd expect that to be explicitly referenced.

Liberty's Edge

I agree with you in principal, but a Whirlwind with an area roughly 20 ft. tall and 10 ft. wide would actually take up space as a Large creature for most of its cone shaped area. And that is just the Small air elemental!

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Arnim Thayer wrote:

When an air elemental changes into a whirlwind, does its size change? For example, a small air elemental using Whirlwind can become a column of air 5 ft. at it's base with a height maximum of 20 ft. (PFB, 121). Since a Whirlwind's width is half it's height at it's peak, does this change it's size to Large?

This is only important because a Whirlwind special attack can only damage a creature one or more sizes smaller. If the size doesn't change, then an air elemental doesn't pose a threat with it's Whirlwind special attack until it is Large against a Medium creature.

An elemental's size doesn't change when it whirlwinds up. And yes, that does mean that Medium creatures shouldn't be worried until they fight Large monsters. Their small companions and Tiny familiars, though... watch out!


While we are on the subject of whirlwind attack, one of the PCs in my game on saturday summoned a Large air elemental (CR 5), which has a speed of 100 ft., whirlwind is DC 18, and slam damage is 1d8+4. He used it to mow down several foes in a way that had everyone at the table rather increduluous (including the player who summoned the AE). By running back and forth across a line of three or four foes, the AE was able to hit each foe at least 4 or 5 times with its 100 ft. speed, forcing them to make DC 18 Ref saves to avoid being caught and a 2nd save to avoid 1d8+4 dmg on each pass.

Now imagine the same tactic used against a single foe, with the AE passing into and out of the foe's square ten times in one round (which it can do with 100 ft. speed), purposely dropping the foe (a free action) any time it gets caught in the ww in favor of forcing the foe to make a new save vs. the slam damage on every pass. If the foe makes its Ref save on half of the passes, that's still an average of 42 dmg per round. If the foe fails all of the saves, thats an average of 85 dmg per round, with the potential to do as much as 120 dmg in 1 round. Does that seem broken for a CR 5 monster?


Quote:
The whirlwind form does not provoke attacks of opportunity, even if the creature enters the space another creature occupies. Another creature might be caught in the whirlwind if it touches or enters the whirlwind, or if the whirlwind moves into or through a creature's space. A creature in whirlwind form cannot make its normal attacks and does not threaten the area around it.

Does the bolded section mean that an attack with a natural weapon or touch attack (spell) or some other form of direct contact requires a Reflex save to not get sucked into the whirlwind? Or is effect of this language left up to DM discretion?

There are usually 2 Reflex saves needed when the whirlwind enters the square of another creature. One save to avoid damage, and a second save to avoid being picked up. If the above contact does require a Reflex save, would that require 3 Reflex saves (1 to avoid getting sucked in, 1 to avoid damage, 1 to avoid being picked up)? Or do the 2 Reflexes saves just happen in reverse order (1 to avoid being picked up [i.e. sucked in], 1 to avoid damage)?

Whereas, if a creature voluntarily entered the whirlwind, lets say while making an Acrobatics check to move through the creature's square, the 2 Reflex saves could happen just as if the whirlwind entered the creatures square (1 to avoid damage, 1 to avoid being picked up).

Dark Archive

Necroing this thread (sorry) because I was wondering if the two reflex saves are dependant on each other.

If an air elemental in whirlwind form enters an enemy's square, the enemy gets a reflex save to avoid damage. Does he then still have to make a reflex save to avoid being picked up, or is the second reflex save only applicable if he is damaged?

Dark Archive

Michael Johnson 66 wrote:

While we are on the subject of whirlwind attack, one of the PCs in my game on saturday summoned a Large air elemental (CR 5), which has a speed of 100 ft., whirlwind is DC 18, and slam damage is 1d8+4. He used it to mow down several foes in a way that had everyone at the table rather increduluous (including the player who summoned the AE). By running back and forth across a line of three or four foes, the AE was able to hit each foe at least 4 or 5 times with its 100 ft. speed, forcing them to make DC 18 Ref saves to avoid being caught and a 2nd save to avoid 1d8+4 dmg on each pass.

Now imagine the same tactic used against a single foe, with the AE passing into and out of the foe's square ten times in one round (which it can do with 100 ft. speed), purposely dropping the foe (a free action) any time it gets caught in the ww in favor of forcing the foe to make a new save vs. the slam damage on every pass. If the foe makes its Ref save on half of the passes, that's still an average of 42 dmg per round. If the foe fails all of the saves, thats an average of 85 dmg per round, with the potential to do as much as 120 dmg in 1 round. Does that seem broken for a CR 5 monster?

I'm more interested in a response on this, i had never thought of that and it seems awesome...and OP.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Whirlwind Special Attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions