Cleric's Spontaneous Casting and Metamagic


Rules Questions


Could someone please explain how a Cleric's Spontaneous Casting ability
works with spells that have been augmented with a metamagic feat ?

For example, I understand that a Cleric can swap out a 3rd level Searing Light
for a 3rd level Cure Serious Wounds. That’s easy. But what if the Searing Light was Maximized so that it took up a 6th level slot ? Would the cleric then get a 3rd level Maximized Cure Serious Wounds or could she convert it to a 6th level Mass Cure Moderate Wounds ???

I think the former is true, but I need a price check.

What if the metamagic augmentation results in something meaningless to a Cure ---
like an Extended Spell. Would converting an Extended Bull’s Strength just give
a regular Cure Moderate Wounds ???

Finally what if the Cleric used some Incense of Meditation to prepare all her spells
as though they were Maximized but without taking up higher slots. Would they be
spontaneously converted into normal cures, or maximized cures. Would the casting
time for those spells (converted to cures or not) remain at one standard action or increase
to one full action.

Thanks much,
Bollo.

Liberty's Edge RPG Superstar 2015 Top 16, RPG Superstar 2013 Top 16

The latter is true. You could convert a 6th level slot (whether it's a 6th level spell, or a 3rd level maximized spell, it's still a 6th level slot) into a cure spell of 6th level or lower, with no metamagic feats applied.

Converting an extended bull's strength would get you a cure serious wounds.

Converting a spell enhanced by incense of meditation wouldn't get you any bonus, since it uses the same level slot. If you used incense of meditation to get a maximized sound burst, it still uses a 2nd level slot, and if you burned that slot to spontaneously cast a cure spell, you'd get cure moderate wounds.


Bollo wrote:

Could someone please explain how a Cleric's Spontaneous Casting ability

works with spells that have been augmented with a metamagic feat ?

For example, I understand that a Cleric can swap out a 3rd level Searing Light
for a 3rd level Cure Serious Wounds. That’s easy. But what if the Searing Light was Maximized so that it took up a 6th level slot ? Would the cleric then get a 3rd level Maximized Cure Serious Wounds or could she convert it to a 6th level Mass Cure Moderate Wounds ???

I think the former is true, but I need a price check.

What if the metamagic augmentation results in something meaningless to a Cure ---
like an Extended Spell. Would converting an Extended Bull’s Strength just give
a regular Cure Moderate Wounds ???

Finally what if the Cleric used some Incense of Meditation to prepare all her spells
as though they were Maximized but without taking up higher slots. Would they be
spontaneously converted into normal cures, or maximized cures. Would the casting
time for those spells (converted to cures or not) remain at one standard action or increase
to one full action.

Thanks much,
Bollo.

A cleric can do both.

You have a cleric with the empower spell feat(+2 level) with a Blade Barrier(level 6 spell) memorized. They could convert the Blade Barrier to a Mass Cure Moderate(level 6 spell) or they could convert the Blade Barrier to a Empowered Cure Critical(level 4 + empower = level 6). If they do the empowered cure critical, the spell will require a full round action to cast because you are applying metamagic to a spontaneous spell.

A level 6 spell slot is a level 6 spell slot. Even if the spell held a level 9 spell or the equivalent, it is still a level 6 spell slot.

As for the incence of meditation, the maximize only applies to the prepared spells. Once those spells are converted to cures, they are now spontaneous spells, and thus not effected by the incense. Now if you chose to memorize a cure spell while under the effect of the incense, it would be maximized. This is probably the only situations where I can see a positive energy cleric choosing to memorize a cure spell.


Charender wrote:

A cleric can do both.

You have a cleric with the empower spell feat(+2 level) with a Blade Barrier(level 6 spell) memorized. They could convert the Blade Barrier to a Mass Cure Moderate(level 6 spell) or they could convert the Blade Barrier to a Empowered Cure Critical(level 4 + empower = level 6). If they do the empowered cure critical, the spell will require a full round action to cast because you are applying metamagic to a spontaneous spell.

A level 6 spell slot is a level 6 spell slot. Even if the spell held a level 9 spell or the equivalent, it is still a level 6 spell slot.

As for the incence of meditation, the maximize only applies to the prepared spells. Once those spells are converted to cures, they are now spontaneous spells, and thus not effected by the incense. Now if you chose to memorize a cure spell while under the effect of the incense, it would be maximized. This is probably the only situations where I can see a positive energy cleric choosing to memorize a cure spell.

This is correct.


One caveat, if the metamagic came from a magic item like incense and not from the cleric, then they cannot apply it to a spontaneously cast spell. They must have the feat or a magic item like a metamagic rod to apply metamagic on spontaneous spells.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cleric's Spontaneous Casting and Metamagic All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions