Reach and AoO and Flyby Attack


Rules Questions


I have a question regarding Reach Weapons (like the Glaive) and Attacks of Opportunity.

Let's say I did a charge and stopped 5' before the opponent and hit him with my Glaive.

Now, at his turn, he decides to move up to me.

Do I get an AoO with my Glaive?

He moves out of a square that I threaten but by doing so he enters a square that I can't attack with the Glaive. However I reckon I can because the AoO interrupts his movement.

So now he is adjacent to me and attcks me.

On my next turn I want to use Flyby Attack (feat from Bestiary). Can I take a 5' step and then fly by him in 5' distance to use my Glaive with flyby attack?

Thanks for your comments on this.


MicMan wrote:

I have a question regarding Reach Weapons (like the Glaive) and Attacks of Opportunity.

Let's say I did a charge and stopped 5' before the opponent and hit him with my Glaive.

Now, at his turn, he decides to move up to me.

Do I get an AoO with my Glaive?

He moves out of a square that I threaten but by doing so he enters a square that I can't attack with the Glaive. However I reckon I can because the AoO interrupts his movement.

So now he is adjacent to me and attcks me.

On my next turn I want to use Flyby Attack (feat from Bestiary). Can I take a 5' step and then fly by him in 5' distance to use my Glaive with flyby attack?

Thanks for your comments on this.

1st question, if he doesnt 5ft step then yes, your Attack of Opportunity happens before he actually leaves the square.

2nd question, i would say yes. Flyby attack says you can make an attack at any point in the move action, that should include the beggining of it.


MicMan wrote:

I have a question regarding Reach Weapons (like the Glaive) and Attacks of Opportunity.

Let's say I did a charge and stopped 5' before the opponent and hit him with my Glaive.

Now, at his turn, he decides to move up to me.

Do I get an AoO with my Glaive?

If he moves, yes. If he adjusts(5-foot step), no.

Quote:
He moves out of a square that I threaten but by doing so he enters a square that I can't attack with the Glaive. However I reckon I can because the AoO interrupts his movement.

Your attack is resolved when he leaves the threatened square but he's still considered to be in there. If it was otherwise you could'nt ever perform an AoO against someone moving away from you.

Quote:

So now he is adjacent to me and attcks me.

On my next turn I want to use Flyby Attack (feat from Bestiary). Can I take a 5' step and then fly by him in 5' distance to use my Glaive with flyby attack?

Thanks for your comments on this.

You cannot 5-foot step and continue moving.


nidho wrote:
MicMan wrote:

So now he is adjacent to me and attcks me.

On my next turn I want to use Flyby Attack (feat from Bestiary). Can I take a 5' step and then fly by him in 5' distance to use my Glaive with flyby attack?

Thanks for your comments on this.

You cannot 5-foot step and continue moving.

But you can move 5 feet, use your glaive, and then continue moving. Its just not a 5' step. Thats what flyby and spring attack are for.


fly by attack doesn't prevent AoO's though, so doing so (moving 5 feet, attacking, and continuing to move) provokes an AoO from your opponent.


Remember Spring Attack you have to move at least 10ft before attacking - It sounds like to me if the enemy was adjacent to you when you try the flyby attack, he will get an AoO on you if he has any.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Reach and AoO and Flyby Attack All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions