Spell Resistance (Some questions)


Rules Questions

Shadow Lodge

Right then some fairly straightforward stuff someone might be able to enlighten me about.

A creature has spell resistance, yet has spell like abilities that it can cast on itself; mage armour, shield or the like. Are these spell like abilities subject to spell resistance if the creature casts them on itself?

The same creature has a passive buffing magical item, a ring of protection +1. Is this subject to spell resistance?

The same creature has a wand and uses a buff, enlarge person on itself from that wand. Is that buff subject to spell resistance?

This is mostly to clarify, but thank you for your time.


On the older rules you may resist spells but you don't have to. But if you are immune then the spells don't work on yourself. So you can deside not to resist with resistance.


"A creature's spell resistance never interferes with its own spells, items, or abilities."


If you are casting a spell on yourself, using a spell-like ability, activating a magic item or drinking a potion, your spell resistance doesn't apply (but it will if anyone tries the same thing : frined or enemy).

This can have some nasty backdrafts : if you are in an area spell you've just cast, your spell resistance won't protect you ; in the same way, Spell Truning quickly becomes your worst nightmare because it returns to you one of your spell and then your SR is useless ...

Shadow Lodge

Do we have a reference for this I've been looking in the PRD and the big book? I'm possibly just tired. Thanks for the quick response.


ugly child wrote:
Do we have a reference for this I've been looking in the PRD and the big book? I'm possibly just tired. Thanks for the quick response.

Try page 564-565 of the Core Rulebook.

On a similar note, if someone casts an area effect spell (e.g. fireball) on a group of foes with SR, does the spell caster need to make a single spell resistance check, or a check for each creature affected?
I'm leaning towards a single check myself, but I was curious if there was an offical ruling.


Well technically, you should make a SR check for every enemy in the area.

But I must say that I would have no problem if a DM asks me to roll once and applies the result to each enemy.


Neil Mansell wrote:

On a similar note, if someone casts an area effect spell (e.g. fireball) on a group of foes with SR, does the spell caster need to make a single spell resistance check, or a check for each creature affected?

I'm leaning towards a single check myself, but I was curious if there was an offical ruling.

Consider the spell resistance as a super save.

If a creature is rolling for its saving throws, then it should roll for its spell resistance too.
If one creature in a group fails its save or its SR, there is no reason why the others should automatically fail too. Or succeed if it succeeds in an opposite case.

Shadow Lodge

Neil Mansell wrote:
ugly child wrote:
Do we have a reference for this I've been looking in the PRD and the big book? I'm possibly just tired. Thanks for the quick response.

Try page 564-565 of the Core Rulebook.

On a similar note, if someone casts an area effect spell (e.g. fireball) on a group of foes with SR, does the spell caster need to make a single spell resistance check, or a check for each creature affected?
I'm leaning towards a single check myself, but I was curious if there was an offical ruling.

Many thanks. I'm playing around with mechanics for a conversion of Ravenloft and want to be clear on how to use it.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Resistance (Some questions) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions