Dimension Door Query


Rules Questions


Pathfinder PF Special Edition Subscriber

The spell Dimension Door say that you can bring along objects as long as they do not exceed your maximum load. However, it does not specify that you be "CARRYING" those objects.

Thus... should you be able to touch an large object sitting on the ground next to you when you DD and bring it along?

Paizo Employee Creative Director

Lokie wrote:

The spell Dimension Door say that you can bring along objects as long as they do not exceed your maximum load. However, it does not specify that you be "CARRYING" those objects.

Thus... should you be able to touch an large object sitting on the ground next to you when you DD and bring it along?

I would probably rule in my game that you had to be gripping the object, not just touching it; basically, you have to have a good, firm hold to take something with you.


Pathfinder PF Special Edition Subscriber
James Jacobs wrote:
Lokie wrote:

The spell Dimension Door say that you can bring along objects as long as they do not exceed your maximum load. However, it does not specify that you be "CARRYING" those objects.

Thus... should you be able to touch an large object sitting on the ground next to you when you DD and bring it along?

I would probably rule in my game that you had to be gripping the object, not just touching it; basically, you have to have a good, firm hold to take something with you.

Fair enough. Its an object so its no going to be resisting your attempt to "grapple" it. :)

So as a "for instance"...

Human Transmuter decides he wants to move a heavy wooden statue he has just carved in his likeness. Picking up and carrying the statue is "just so much work" so instead he decides to pop a bulls strength (To increase his carry capacity) firmly grab the statue (without picking it up) and then cast DD to move the statue to its new location.

Seem ok?

For another "for instance"...

Party Conjurer is down to his last few spells (He only has a Quickened Fly spell and a Dimension Door left). He sees a monster is about to eat his fellow party member. Getting creative he casts his fly spell, grabs hold of a nearby log (or some other heavy-ish object that is near his max carry) and casts DD. He 100 above the monster and the forces of gravity rips the heavy object from his grip to land on the monster.

Technically, he cannot "act" to drop the log. (Even as a free action since DD specifically says "After using this spell, you can't take any other actions until your next turn.") However as the object is near his max carry, he is not going to be holding on to it with one hand either...


Pathfinder PF Special Edition Subscriber

PS... its 5:40 am here is Florida. That must mean its what... 3:40 am on that side of the USA?

Nice to know you can get answers to these neat questions around the clock! :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dimension Door Query All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.