Need a cleric a free hand to channel energy?


Rules Questions


In the description of Channel energy it says: 'A cleric must be able to present her holy symbol to use this ability.' In the images you always see the cleric with the symbol in one hand. Does that mean, a cleric need a free hand to present his symbol to use the channel-ability? So a cleric using shield and weapon must drop one of them to present the holy symbol? Or is it enough to have the symbol worked into the shield, clothing or some other visible part of the cleric's equipment to present it?


Mnementh wrote:
In the description of Channel energy it says: 'A cleric must be able to present her holy symbol to use this ability.' In the images you always see the cleric with the symbol in one hand. Does that mean, a cleric need a free hand to present his symbol to use the channel-ability? So a cleric using shield and weapon must drop one of them to present the holy symbol? Or is it enough to have the symbol worked into the shield, clothing or some other visible part of the cleric's equipment to present it?

Normaly clerics need to hold their holy symbol and make it visible to those they wish to turn/channel against.

It is not at all unreasonable to create special holy shields that act as holy symbols, but I think the way to go for you is using a light shield, which allows you to hold relatively small items (such as your holy symbol) in your shield hand without any problem.

EDIT: a light shield even lets you change your weapon to your shield hand. In this case you can only hold your weapon in your shield hand, not wield it, but it would momentarily free your other hand for another purpose than making weapon attacks.


Mnementh wrote:
In the description of Channel energy it says: 'A cleric must be able to present her holy symbol to use this ability.' In the images you always see the cleric with the symbol in one hand. Does that mean, a cleric need a free hand to present his symbol to use the channel-ability? So a cleric using shield and weapon must drop one of them to present the holy symbol? Or is it enough to have the symbol worked into the shield, clothing or some other visible part of the cleric's equipment to present it?

I have my holy symbol wrapped around the hilt of my sword. I just hold my sword out when I need to present it.

The Exchange

My Dwarf Cleric of Cayden Cailean wears his silver tankard around his neck on a moderately long chain. Long enough that he can grab and hold it out or cast Create Water to fill it with ale and toast.


My cleric of Death has her holy symbol right on the backs of her gloves for easy access.

Sovereign Court

The magic "trinket" for Iomedae in Gods and Magic specifically says that any longsword you hold in that hand counts as your holy symbol. To me this implies that, yes, you do need to hold your holy symbol in your hand to use it, otherwise this item's ability would be useless.


Thanks for all your answers. As I understand it from your answers, the cleric needs a hand to present it, but it should be possible to combine the holy symbol with something he has usually in his hands. Thanks alot.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Need a cleric a free hand to channel energy? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.