Dire Bat: Error with Bite Damage?


Rules Questions


According to the PRD here, the Dire Bat does:

Melee bite +5 (1d8+4)

Why +4?
With a Strength of 17, shouldn't this be 1d8+3?!?
Did I miss something?

RiTz21
http://TheOnlySheet.com

Paizo Employee Creative Director

RiTz21 wrote:

According to the PRD here, the Dire Bat does:

Melee bite +5 (1d8+4)

Why +4?
With a Strength of 17, shouldn't this be 1d8+3?!?
Did I miss something?

RiTz21
http://TheOnlySheet.com

Since the dire bat has only one attack, he gets to apply 1.5 times his strength modifier to damage done with it. See the rules for Natural Attacks on page 302.


James Jacobs wrote:
Since the dire bat has only one attack, he gets to apply 1.5 times his strength modifier to damage done with it. See the rules for Natural Attacks on page 302.

Ah crap! I keep forgetting that rule - THANKS!!

RiTz21

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Dire Bat: Error with Bite Damage? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions