Questions about some attack actions


Rules Questions


I was wondering if you multiply the damage from power attack on a successful critical hit?

Another question I was wondering about is if I have a wand of scorching ray can I attack someone I am adjacent 2 with it since it is a ranged touch attack or do I have to be at range?

If I can attack an adjacent character with the wand of scorching ray will this provoke and attack of opportunity?

Lastly can I faint(assuming I have improved faint) that adjacent opponent with the wand of scorching ray and then ranged touch attack him without provoking an attack of opportunity?


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber
Tonydd wrote:


I was wondering if you multiply the damage from power attack on a successful critical hit?

Another question I was wondering about is if I have a wand of scorching ray can I attack someone I am adjacent 2 with it since it is a ranged touch attack or do I have to be at range?

If I can attack an adjacent character with the wand of scorching ray will this provoke and attack of opportunity?

Lastly can I faint(assuming I have improved faint) that adjacent opponent with the wand of scorching ray and then ranged touch attack him without provoking an attack of opportunity?

1) Yes. The extra power attack damage is a fixed number, multiplied as "all your usual bonuses", not extra dice like precision damage wich is NOT multiplied.

2) Yes, you can attack an adjacent target with a ranged attack.

3) This will (almost always) provoke an attack of opportunity. There is some disagreement about this, search the board for the threads.

4) Feint. RAW says "the next MELEE attack you make" (emphasis mine). That said, as a house rule, that would be an interesting additional use for feint. I'm reminded of the Conan movie where the archer, out of arrows, feints against the horseman causing him to veer away.

Edit: Two threads about ranged touch attacks provoking. I'm not sure if the fact that you're casting from a wand has any effect on the answer.

http://paizo.com/paizo/messageboards/community/gaming/dnd/archives/rangedTo uchAttacksAndAoOs

http://paizo.com/paizo/messageboards/paizoPublishing/pathfinder/pathfinderR PG/general/archives/finallyRangedTouchSpellsProvokeAoO


tx a lot for the info that what I needed

SlimGauge wrote:
Tonydd wrote:


I was wondering if you multiply the damage from power attack on a successful critical hit?

Another question I was wondering about is if I have a wand of scorching ray can I attack someone I am adjacent 2 with it since it is a ranged touch attack or do I have to be at range?

If I can attack an adjacent character with the wand of scorching ray will this provoke and attack of opportunity?

Lastly can I faint(assuming I have improved faint) that adjacent opponent with the wand of scorching ray and then ranged touch attack him without provoking an attack of opportunity?

1) Yes. The extra power attack damage is a fixed number, multiplied as "all your usual bonuses", not extra dice like precision damage wich is NOT multiplied.

2) Yes, you can attack an adjacent target with a ranged attack.

3) This will (almost always) provoke an attack of opportunity. There is some disagreement about this, search the board for the threads.

4) Feint. RAW says "the next MELEE attack you make" (emphasis mine). That said, as a house rule, that would be an interesting additional use for feint. I'm reminded of the Conan movie where the archer, out of arrows, feints against the horseman causing him to veer away.

Edit: Two threads about ranged touch attacks provoking. I'm not sure if the fact that you're casting from a wand has any effect on the answer.

http://paizo.com/paizo/messageboards/community/gaming/dnd/archives/rangedTo uchAttacksAndAoOs

http://paizo.com/paizo/messageboards/paizoPublishing/pathfinder/pathfinderR PG/general/archives/finallyRangedTouchSpellsProvokeAoO

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Questions about some attack actions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.