Gravity Weapon


Rules Discussion


The feat states:

You build up gravitational force and funnel it into your blows, leading to more powerful attacks with blade and bow alike. On your first weapon Strike each round, you gain a status bonus to damage equal to twice the number of weapon damage dice.

Does Gravity Weapon damage double on a critical hit? For example a greater striking rune on a crit would be +12 dmg? And if you have say a Deadly Weapon would it be +16?


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Why wouldn't it double on a crit? It isn't an an instance of damage that only applies on a crit.


It doubles on a crit but is NOT affected by deadly.

Effects that count weapon damage die to determin their effect ignore everything but the actual die of the weapon. So extra dice from weapon traits or feats like Power Attack don't count.


It would double, yes, so +12 if you have a greater striking rune. However, it would never count the extra weapon dice from the deadly weapon trait, as that is added after the rest of the damage has been doubled for the crit.


Does the weapon work for only swords and bows or unarmed strikes too?


It says 'weapon Strike', so unarmed attacks are left out in the cold it seems:

CRB wrote:
However, unarmed attacks aren’t weapons, and effects and abilities that work with weapons never work with unarmed attacks unless they specifically say so.


Would it work with a user of everyone's favourite, the Handwraps of Mighty Blows? I'd think it would, since they seem to convert your unarmed strike into a 'weapon'.


Qaianna wrote:
Would it work with a user of everyone's favourite, the Handwraps of Mighty Blows? I'd think it would, since they seem to convert your unarmed strike into a 'weapon'.

No, Handwraps don't turn your unarmed Strikes into a Weapon. They only allow you to apply runes to unarmed Strikes.

And since Gravity Weapon specifically improved "your first weapon Strike each round", unarmed Strikes can't benefit from it.


What happens if you miss with your first strike, could you apply the damage bonus to the second strike?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Atalius wrote:
What happens if you miss with your first strike, could you apply the damage bonus to the second strike?

Not if it says your first weapon strike of a round, a strike is a mechanical term and isn't tied to hitting the target.


Atalius wrote:
What happens if you miss with your first strike, could you apply the damage bonus to the second strike?

Notice the capital letter in Strike. It's a keyword with a specific meaning in the rules.

I know others have already said this, but I wanted to emphasis looking out for Capital Letters.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Don't emphasize it too hard. Words that could be capitalized because they refer to a specific mechanical concept aren't always.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Gravity Weapon All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.