| Sean FitzSimon |
I've read through the rules, and I'm fairly sure I understand how an archer is going to function on the back of a mount. In the case of a ranger, the archer can get her full-round attack while mounted at penalties based on how much the mount is moving (-4 double move, -8 running).
Here are the things I can't seem to find:
-The shortbow limitation still applies to mounted combat, but you don't seem to take any penalties. The mount taking a move action still allows you to take a full-round attack at no penalty. Is this correct?
-Can your mount take a full-round action to attack while you sit atop it, also taking your full-round action to attack?
| nidho |
I've read through the rules, and I'm fairly sure I understand how an archer is going to function on the back of a mount. In the case of a ranger, the archer can get her full-round attack while mounted at penalties based on how much the mount is moving (-4 double move, -8 running).
Here are the things I can't seem to find:
-The shortbow limitation still applies to mounted combat, but you don't seem to take any penalties.
Is this referred to how longbows can't be used while mounted? Note that composite longbows can be used.
The mount taking a move action still allows you to take a full-round attack at no penalty. Is this correct?
for untrained mounts:
Mounts that do not possess combat training (see the Handle Animal skill) are frightened by combat. If you don't dismount, you must make a DC 20 Ride check each round as a move action to control such a mount. If you succeed, you can perform a standard action after the move action. If you fail, the move action becomes a full-round action, and you can't do anything else until your next turn.
that's a no.
for combat trained mounts
Combat while Mounted: With a DC 5 Ride check, you can guide your mount with your knees so as to use both hands to attack or defend yourself. This is a free action.
and
You can make a full attack with a ranged weapon while your mount is moving. Likewise, you can take move actions normally.
the answer is yes.
-Can your mount take a full-round action to attack while you sit atop it, also taking your full-round action to attack?
Fight with a Combat-Trained Mount: If you direct your war-trained mount to attack in battle, you can still make your own attack or attacks normally. This usage is a free action.
so, yes.
BTW: all those complementary rules on mounted combat are found on the ride skill description.