Channel Energy


Rules Questions


One question about this rule:
"Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all
creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot
radius centered on the cleric. The amount of damage dealt
or healed is equal to 1d6 points of damage plus 1d6 points
of damage for every two cleric levels beyond 1st (2d6 at 3rd,
3d6 at 5th, and so on)."

If you channel energy aimed dealing damage to a group of Undead within range, the 1d6 points of damage is in total, correct? In other words, for example, for a 1st level cleric, you're not doing 1d6 damage to each target within range, are you?

If, in fact, it is 1d6 per target, that seems really powerful for an ability used so many times per day right out of the gate for a low-level character. If the 1d6 is in total, how do you distribute the damage?


ziltmilt wrote:

One question about this rule:

"Channeling energy causes a burst that affects all
creatures of one type (either undead or living) in a 30-foot
radius centered on the cleric. The amount of damage dealt
or healed is equal to 1d6 points of damage plus 1d6 points
of damage for every two cleric levels beyond 1st (2d6 at 3rd,
3d6 at 5th, and so on)."

If you channel energy aimed dealing damage to a group of Undead within range, the 1d6 points of damage is in total, correct? In other words, for example, for a 1st level cleric, you're not doing 1d6 damage to each target within range, are you?

If, in fact, it is 1d6 per target, that seems really powerful for an ability used so many times per day right out of the gate for a low-level character. If the 1d6 is in total, how do you distribute the damage?

It is indeed d6 effecting everything within the area of effect

The Exchange

It's 1d6 healed or damaged per target. It is a fairly powerful ability against minor undead, but it's a situational type of thing and any creatures taking damage do get a will save. In my group, we use it almost exclusively for healing so that the cleric can actually cast some buff spells and doesn't have to be just a heal-bot.

Scarab Sages

It is a powerful ability at low levels, both for the party and for the bad guys (see the other threads here regarding a 3rd level evil cleric using it against a 1st level party).

We roll the d6's and then use the same number for all creatures within 30'. I suppose you could roll a separate number for each creature targeted but there's no advantage to that and it simply creates a lot of wasted time. (Hmm, can you "create wasted time"? Or any time at all, for that matter?)


If I read it correct, your only choice is whether to channel positive or negitive energy, and thats only if you are neutral and only the first time you use it. If you channel positive energy, and your party is being swamped by undead, your burst will heal your party members at the same time it hurts the undead.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yep.

And if your allies are fighting amongst living bad guys, /it will heal them both/.

(unless you take the selective channeling feat).

-S


paul halcott wrote:
If I read it correct, your only choice is whether to channel positive or negitive energy, and thats only if you are neutral and only the first time you use it. If you channel positive energy, and your party is being swamped by undead, your burst will heal your party members at the same time it hurts the undead.

No, you're missing a big limitation to the ability. You have to choose whether to use the energy to heal OR injure. If your party is surrounded by undead, you can either use positive energy to heal your party, or use the injury to injure the undead. Of course, you make this decision each time you use the ability.

A necromancer with undead minions would make a similar choice, with opposite effects (negative injury). Therefore, a NPC necromancer healing his minions does not simultaneously injure the PCs.


paul halcott wrote:
If I read it correct, your only choice is whether to channel positive or negitive energy, and thats only if you are neutral and only the first time you use it. If you channel positive energy, and your party is being swamped by undead, your burst will heal your party members at the same time it hurts the undead.

Not quite correct.

Yes, good clerics channel positive energy, evil clerics channel negative energy, and neutral clerics decide during character creation which energy they will channel and they can never change their minds. That part was correct.

Each time a cleric uses this ability, they decide to heal or harm. Those who channel positive energy can heal living or harm undead, but not both at the same time; they pick one or the other each time they use it. Likewise, but opposite, for the channelers of negative energy: with each use they decide whether to heal undead or harm living, but not both.

See this:

Pathfinder Core Rulebook, Cleric, page 40 wrote:

A good cleric (or one who worships a good deity) channels

positive energy and can choose to deal damage to undead
creatures or to heal living creatures. An evil cleric (or one
who worships an evil deity) channels negative energy and can
choose to deal damage to living creatures or to heal undead
creatures.

Back in Beta they tried it the way you thought it worked, but found out it was too overpowered that way, completely trivializing any fight with undead, so it got nerfed a bit for the Core rules.

edit: Ninja'd (but I included a cite)


If the Cleric chooses to use this ability for healing, will it heal all living creatures in the area of effect or just creatures that the Cleric chooses to heal?

Will it heal ennemies?

Sovereign Court

Yes it will heal enemies. See the Selective Channeling feat to avoid this.

Sovereign Court

This is a Channel Queery (sort of) Why do all the other "extra " Feats have the ability to be taken multiple times , but Extra Channelling does not?

Sovereign Court

Balance.


Sorry, but i still have a point of view.

if you read the ability:

A good cleric (or a neutral cleric who worships a good deity) channels positive energy and can choose to deal damage to undead creatures or to heal living creatures. An evil cleric (or a neutral cleric who worships an evil deity) channels negative energy and can choose to deal damage to living creatures or to heal undead creatures. A neutral cleric of a neutral deity (or one who is not devoted to a particular deity) must choose whether she channels positive or negative energy. Once this choice is made, it cannot be reversed.

Its, specific says:
Good Clerics, channels positive energy and has to choose if it will harm undeads or heal living;
Evil Clerics, channels negative energy and has to choose if it will harm living, or heal undeads;
Netral Clerics choose what type of energy he burst.

Otherwise, it will say:
Good Clerics, channel positive;
Evil Clerics, channel negative;
Neutral Clerics, channel positive or negative;
Every time a negative channel is used, you must choose to heal undeads or harm living;
Every time a positive channel is used, you must choose to heal living or harm undeads


6 year necro might be the oldest I've seen. A record, perhaps?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I didn't know DM_Blake hung around here for so long.

But yeah, that is one incredibly impressive necro.

Sczarni

The OP is still an active poster as well.

Sometimes it's fun to see super old threads. Just not usually for the same reason that someone is necroing them for.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Channel Energy All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions