Wintergreen
|
A wizard can 'enchant' their arcane bond object as if they had the requisite item creation feats. So I was wondering if a wizard could inscribe a spell on their bonded object as if it was a scroll. With scrolls, it is only the writing that disappears, so the bonded object would remain after the spell had been cast from it. So you could have a spell inscribed upon the back of your amulet, for instance.
Is that the intention of the rules? Is there anything that would rule against this interpretation? I don't think it would be overpowering to have a wizard doing this. Though you might need to set a limit of how many spells the object could hold.
Xuttah
|
If it's possible, that's brilliant!
Since scrolls no longer crumble to dust when used (writing just fades according to PRD), there is an argument that can be made for that, since anything you can write on could potentially be a scroll (rune sticks, clay tablets, tatoos etc).
The only problem I see with that is the bonded items that can be treated like spell completion items actually have that form (wand or staff).
The other item creation feat to consider is Brew Potion and how it interacts with bonded items. Best to have a ring for that one, or the after effects could be...painful. :)
Thorgrym
|
A wizard can 'enchant' their arcane bond object as if they had the requisite item creation feats. So I was wondering if a wizard could inscribe a spell on their bonded object as if it was a scroll. With scrolls, it is only the writing that disappears, so the bonded object would remain after the spell had been cast from it. So you could have a spell inscribed upon the back of your amulet, for instance.
Is that the intention of the rules? Is there anything that would rule against this interpretation? I don't think it would be overpowering to have a wizard doing this. Though you might need to set a limit of how many spells the object could hold.
RAW, this is not allowed in the rules. Scribe Scroll (pg. 132) allows you to create a scroll of any type that you know. It mentions referring to pg. 490 for scrolls, and scroll types are fine vellum about 8 1/2 by 11 inches, reinforced with leather bindings top and bottom. There are no options listed for using other materials, such as carving into stone (a rune), or on a person (a tattoo). In other games based on 3.5, these are all accomplished by different feats, so there are no precedents supporting your case.
**NOTE**The core rulebook says that scrolls are APPROXIMATELY 8.5 by 11 inches. That is because Wizards strictly adhere to the ISO A4 paper standard of 210 × 297 mm.
Wintergreen
|
RAW, this is not allowed in the rules. Scribe Scroll (pg. 132) allows you to create a scroll of any type that you know. It mentions referring to pg. 490 for scrolls, and scroll types are fine vellum about 8 1/2 by 11 inches, reinforced with leather bindings top and bottom. There are no options listed for using other materials, such as carving into stone (a rune), or on a person (a tattoo). In other games based on 3.5, these are all accomplished by different feats, so there are no precedents supporting your case.
**NOTE**The core rulebook says that scrolls are APPROXIMATELY 8.5 by 11 inches. That is because Wizards strictly adhere to the ISO A4 paper standard of 210 × 297 mm.
I'm not sure that it specifically requires scrolls to be made of those materials though. What got me thinking about it was that at 1st level it's a feature of the arcane bond that can't be used. Indeed it can't be used until 3rd level at a minimum (for an amulet as a wondrous item) and 7th level if you select a ring.
Though if a scroll has to be vellum and leather, is there anything stopping a character from having an amulet made of such? Given the A4 size maybe you could fold it up into an amulet. (Craft origami?)
And if you wanted to go the brew potion route then perform: sword swallowing might be useful?
Arazyr
|
If you're going strictly by RAW, I don't believe that is possible.
Objects that are the subject of an arcane bond must fall into one of the following categories: amulet, ring, staff, wand, or weapon.
I read that as referring to item categories, and scroll is not on the list.
A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required item creation feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat. For example, a wizard with a bonded dagger must be at least 5th level to add magic abilities to the dagger (see the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat in Feats). If the bonded object is a wand, it loses its wand abilities when its last charge is consumed, but it is not destroyed and it retains all of its bonded object properties and can be used to craft a new wand. The magic properties of a bonded object, including any magic abilities added to the object, only function for the wizard who owns it. If a bonded object's owner dies, or the item is replaced, the object reverts to being an ordinary masterwork item of the appropriate type.
(Emphasis mine.) This tells me that you can enchant the bonded item only as a magic item of the same category. Amulet only as a corresponding Wondrous Item, for example.
Now, if you want to house-rule it, and allow wizards to cross categories, I agree that it probably wouldn't be overpowering. I'd recommend using the "Multiple Different Abilities" rule (i.e. +50% to price, with certain exceptions).
| Selgard |
If I was a DM, and you wanted to "scribe scrolls" onto a metal object instead of a piece of paper, I'd be ok with that.
What I wouldn't necessarily allow is for you to use 1 item to perform the role of 2 magical items.
If, for example, you have a shiny golden amulet that you use as your bonded object "scroll" that would be fine. But it would in all mechanical ways be a scroll, not a magical amulet. (meaning, no enchanting it with nat armor or whatnot).
The actual physical shape of the "scroll" is largely irrelevant.
Just my .02
-S