Possible Errata in item creation


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


Pathfinder Adventure Subscriber

The materiel costs for spell completion items seems to be wrong.

Staves and wands all have the following costs in the pathfinder SRD.

Quote:
material component costs sufficient to activate the spell 50 times (divide this amount by the number of charges one use of the spell expends)

This rule was taken directly from the OGL content. That was fine in the 3.5 SRD since each of these items had 50 charges but Pathfinder changed the base items.

A Staff now has 10 charges. If this is not a mistake it is a stealth increase in the cost of staff creation to material cost x charges x 5.

It looks like the charges were reduced on the staff but the item creation rule was never revisited.


dulsin wrote:

The materiel costs for spell completion items seems to be wrong.

Staves and wands all have the following costs in the pathfinder SRD.

Quote:
material component costs sufficient to activate the spell 50 times (divide this amount by the number of charges one use of the spell expends)

This rule was taken directly from the OGL content. That was fine in the 3.5 SRD since each of these items had 50 charges but Pathfinder changed the base items.

A Staff now has 10 charges. If this is not a mistake it is a stealth increase in the cost of staff creation to material cost x charges x 5.

It looks like the charges were reduced on the staff but the item creation rule was never revisited.

However Staves are now rechargable, an ability that doesn't exist in any other similar item. I imagine the discrepancy in price is to account for that, since over the lifetime of a staff you can now technically get infinite benefit from it.


Pathfinder Adventure Subscriber
ZappoHisbane wrote:
However Staves are now rechargable, an ability that doesn't exist in any other similar item. I imagine the discrepancy in price is to account for that, since over the lifetime of a staff you can now technically get infinite benefit from it.

When you recharge the item you should need to pay any material costs. If you can pass on materiel costs for recharge then I suppose it is fair to pay it up front. That would be worse letting the staff pay 5x material costs and then it is free from then on.


Pathfinder Adventure Subscriber

Is there a page where all Pathfinder errata has been posted? I would like to see if this has been reported before.

Dark Archive

Recharging a staff, as per raw, does not cost additional material components.


Pathfinder Adventure Subscriber
Draeke Raefel wrote:
Recharging a staff, as per raw, does not cost additional material components.

That does not make any sense. If someone makes a staff that casts a spell with a significant material cost ala Wish should not be recharged for free.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / Possible Errata in item creation All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion