
Velderan |

So, I have a player with a bison animal companion, and I'm a bit confused as to how trample works.
A-Since it otherwise works as an overrun, does trample still work on a charge OR a normal move?
B-Since it works as overrun, would improved overrun (the companion has human int) keep the trample from provoking AoOs?
C-Since trample doesn't require an attack role, but otherwise works as an Overrun, should the trampler make a CMB check to see if they knock the opponent prone anyway?
Thanks in advance.

grasshopper_ea |

So, I have a player with a bison animal companion, and I'm a bit confused as to how trample works.
A-Since it otherwise works as an overrun, does trample still work on a charge OR a normal move?
B-Since it works as overrun, would improved overrun (the companion has human int) keep the trample from provoking AoOs?
C-Since trample doesn't require an attack role, but otherwise works as an Overrun, should the trampler make a CMB check to see if they knock the opponent prone anyway?
Thanks in advance.
I would like to know if you trample while wearing an amulet of mighty fists (flaming) if everyone you trample is subject to fire damage (barring evasion and getting totally out of the way)

Quandary |

A-Since it otherwise works as an overrun, does trample still work on a charge OR a normal move?
The phrase "As a full-round action..." seems to be the stock format for "it's own exclusive action", but the ability doesn't actually specify how far (i.e. Standard Move, Double Move, RUN?) you can travel with this unique Full-Round Action... (not to mention any direction restrictions, i.e. ala Charge). Needs errata.
B-Since it works as overrun, would improved overrun (the companion has human int) keep the trample from provoking AoOs?
I tend to agree, but this should be clarified. I also wonder how else Imp/Grt Over-Run might affect it... Increasing the DC for the Reflex Save?
C-Since trample doesn't require an attack role, but otherwise works as an Overrun, should the trampler make a CMB check to see if they knock the opponent prone anyway?
???
Per the current rules, I don't think so: It's it's own special Full-Round Action, but the phrase "but the trampling creature does not need to make a check" (after saying it works like Overrun) is certainly unclear. If/when the wording is clarified re: Imp/Grt Over-Run, I could definitely see this functinality being "opened up" if you have Imp Over-Run (or especially Grt Over-Run).The Trample ability would really be simpler/better if it just modified how Over-Run works: Allow it to work against any # of opponents you move thru (rather than just 1), allow movement (+Trample Damage) thru their squares even if failing CMB check. All subject to the Trample size limitations which are smaller than normal Overrun's restrictions.
I would like to know if you trample while wearing an amulet of mighty fists (flaming) if everyone you trample is subject to fire damage (barring evasion and getting totally out of the way)
This would be good to know also. The ability DOES seem like a Natural Attack, albeit one with it's own unique action to activate.
Should this be added to the Errata thread or what?