
Hubbaman |
Hello Internet!
I recently came over the spell Polymorph Any Object and was confused about what you can do with it. My dream would be to use it to make a huge version of myself, like a better Enlarge person spell.
So, I looked at Greater Polymorph, since that is mentioned in the spell, and that spell seems able to make you into any polymorph spell of level 6 or lower (based on the levels of the spells mentioned, which are all core spells). If that is true, then it would also be usable with something like Monstrous Physique and it could make me huge that way.
I'm a positive kind of guy, so I will asume that it is possible to use this spell to make my Orc Barbarian into a huge Orc Barbarian, which triggers question 2.
So, if a Bard where to try and cast this spell from a scroll, he would need an UMD 33 cast for the lacking INT, then an UMD 35 to cast the spell? Do you loose the spell if you fail when casting from a scroll, or is like from a wand, nothing lost if you fail?
If this post should have been in the advice section, feel free to move it. And yes, I have tried to look at older posts of Polymorph any Object.
Have a happy weekend!
Hubba

thelemonache |

Sorry, the spell you want is giant form 2. Polymorph Any Object can only be used as the listed spells. Lots of new spells have came out since then so a generous GM might allow them to work under PAO, but by rules normally they do not. I would argue that "permanent huge without losing your gear" is intentionally not allowed with this spell.
As for your scroll questions, literally type "scrolls" into the d20pfsrd and read that whole section, it answers every question you just asked, including mishaps for scroll failure. :)

Hubbaman |
Hmm, would not Monstrous Physique III (a 5th level spell) do the same? I mean size vice.
I think the PAO spell is confusing because of their examples. If you could only use it to replicate the mentioned spells and get a longer duration, fine, but when things like "Pebble to human" is possible, I mean, everything should be possible :)

Hubbaman |
A "huge orc" isn't a viable polymorph form, though.
Assuming they don't count as "related", the viable permanent forms would need to have a base Intelligence equal to or lower than 8, in the case of an orc target.
So: Great Cyclops, Saltwater Merrow
Would that be valid choices for this spell? If Great Cyclops is allowed, couldn't you just go for any creature with the giant subclass?
If you go for a deal like this, with a permanent duration, are there any objects that can suppress the effect? It might be troublesome to be huge in many situations :)

Renata Maclean |
Any creature with the giant subclass would be a valid choice, but the ones I specified have a base Intelligence below 8, making the spell permanent. Most other giants are smarter than orcs, which affects the spell duration.
Edit: That said, I'm not sure if it takes the base Intelligence of the target's race, or the individual target.
The latter would mean that as long as your barbarian has a higher Int than the average orc, he has a wider range of permanent giant forms to pick from

Hubbaman |
Any creature with the giant subclass would be a valid choice, but the ones I specified have a base Intelligence below 8, making the spell permanent. Most other giants are smarter than orcs, which affects the spell duration.
Edit: That said, I'm not sure if it takes the base Intelligence of the target's race, or the individual target.
The latter would mean that as long as your barbarian has a higher Int than the average orc, he has a wider range of permanent giant forms to pick from
Well, my Barbarian happens to be as smart as the average Orc, so no worries :)

Hubbaman |
If I'm permanently changed into something with the POA spell, could I use the Hat of Infinite Disguises to look like my old self?
Guess that won't change my actual size?