Question: Two-Handed Weapons and Somatic Casting


3.5/d20/OGL

Dark Archive

Here is my question:

If I have a Wizard/Fighter using a Greatsword, can I stll cast spells with Somatic components in a round I don't do combat? Logically I think you can let go an hold a two-hand sword in one hand, then grasp it the next round to fight (these rounds are six-seconds).

In GURPS (one-second round) I would have to let go of the sword with one hand (free action), cast (1-second), ready my sword (1 second) then i can fight. But d20 don't go into that detail, so how do I handle it?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Somatic components only require one hand available. A two-hand weapon needs two hands to wield it, but only one to just hold it. Wizards cast cast spells while holding a staff all the time. So it is okay to cast while holding a two-hand weapon.

Now, two one-hand weapons may be an entirely different matter.

Contributor

1 person marked this as a favorite.

What Jack said.

Dark Archive

Repairman Jack wrote:

Somatic components only require one hand available. A two-hand weapon needs two hands to wield it, but only one to just hold it. Wizards cast cast spells while holding a staff all the time. So it is okay to cast while holding a two-hand weapon.

Now, two one-hand weapons may be an entirely different matter.

Thanks. That clears it up!


Jack is rightm but leaves an important point you brought up unadressed. You can hold it in one hand and still cast and that is only for the time you are casting the spell. As long as it is not a full round casting time you can still make attacks of opportunity with the two-handed weapon. Also if something gives you extra actions or doesn't use up your actions (such as a quickened spell or belt of battle) you can still make standard attacks with the two-handed weapon.

For two-handed weapons or weapon/shield combo there is a feat in one of the books that lets you use the weapon to make somantic gesture. Unfortunately I can't remember which of the complete books it was in or what it is called.

The Exchange

Somatic Weaponry, Complete Mage. Allows you to trace the somatic component through the air with whatever weapon you are holding, allowing you to cast spells with S components even with you hands full

Shadow Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Adventure Path Subscriber
Hunterofthedusk wrote:
Somatic Weaponry, Complete Mage. Allows you to trace the somatic component through the air with whatever weapon you are holding, allowing you to cast spells with S components even with you hands full

Thanks! That was driving me Insane, I was going threw my books losing Sanity as i went from book to book.

The Exchange

My mind is a steel trap when it comes to recalling random information from D&D books. Every time there is a question about a rule, item, feat, skill use, or anything else at my table... they look at me.

Community / Forums / Gamer Life / Gaming / D&D / 3.5/d20/OGL / Question: Two-Handed Weapons and Somatic Casting All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in 3.5/d20/OGL