
Jeremy Mac Donald |

I was responding to a post by a lady who was having issues with Holding a Charge, the fact that under the rules about holding a charge it specifies that you can touch multiple people (six as a full round action) and the implications for a spell like cure light wounds.
My original answer was less then concise and I deleted it after posting in order to take another crack at making a concise post.
Now I can't find this lady's post anywhere and searches are not bringing it up.
If I'm just being blind and the post is still around I'd love some one to point it out to me. On the other hand if I somehow deleted her post along with mine (something I should not have the power to do) then I feel pretty bad about that as her post included a number of quotes from the Players Handbook along with page number references and probably took some time to create.
Hence if there is some kind of a bug that results in a whole thread vanishing when some poster hits delete I'd love for that to be cleared up. In this case the OPs post was the only one in the thread until I made my response and then choose to delete. That might or might not have something to do with this bug.

![]() |

I know which post you speak of. I went back and checked the RSS feed and yes the post is gone.
Here is the post from the feed.
Holding the Charge
Page 141 in the PHB says that when holding a charge "you can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action."
We have a player who wants to use this rule to cast cure light wounds on six of his friends. We tried to tell him that he couldn't do this because the spell only affects a single creature. As such, it would be discharged after you touched the first friend.
Does anyone else have advice or insight into this situation? Also, can anyone think of a spell where the six friend rule would apply? Keep in mind that on page 176 of the PHB it says, "Some touch spell, such as teleport and water walk, allow you to touch multiple targets as part of the spell. You can't hold the charge of such a spell..."
We think that you could use the six friend rule with chill touch because it allows for multiple touches over multiple rounds.

Jeremy Mac Donald |

I know which post you speak of. I went back and checked the RSS feed and yes the post is gone.
Here is the post from the feed.
MetalMaiden wrote:Holding the Charge
Page 141 in the PHB says that when holding a charge "you can touch one friend as a standard action or up to six friends as a full-round action."
We have a player who wants to use this rule to cast cure light wounds on six of his friends. We tried to tell him that he couldn't do this because the spell only affects a single creature. As such, it would be discharged after you touched the first friend.
Does anyone else have advice or insight into this situation? Also, can anyone think of a spell where the six friend rule would apply? Keep in mind that on page 176 of the PHB it says, "Some touch spell, such as teleport and water walk, allow you to touch multiple targets as part of the spell. You can't hold the charge of such a spell..."
We think that you could use the six friend rule with chill touch because it allows for multiple touches over multiple rounds.
This is the thread/post I'm talking about. I made it vanish, I'm not sure how but I'm very, very, sorry.

![]() |

Heh. Yeah, that was my wife that posted that. We just figured that the post got eaten. But apparently it was there, and something just got messed up. Thanks for re-posting the text there. If it doesn't find it's way back, we can re post it.
Well, THAT shouldn't happen! I have managed to resurrect it, and Gary thinks he knows a way to make sure it doesn't happen again.

Trey |

RETH-Mog wrote:Heh. Yeah, that was my wife that posted that. We just figured that the post got eaten. But apparently it was there, and something just got messed up. Thanks for re-posting the text there. If it doesn't find it's way back, we can re post it.Well, THAT shouldn't happen! I have managed to resurrect it
All this time, I didn't know Vic had levels in Cleric.

![]() |

RETH-Mog wrote:Heh. Yeah, that was my wife that posted that. We just figured that the post got eaten. But apparently it was there, and something just got messed up. Thanks for re-posting the text there. If it doesn't find it's way back, we can re post it.Well, THAT shouldn't happen! I have managed to resurrect it, and Gary thinks he knows a way to make sure it doesn't happen again.
Thanks! I was just going to repost it and now I don't need to. I appreciate it.