
![]() |

I'm hoping for some clarification on the Lich Transformation class feature of the Dread Necromancer. The class feature states, "when a dread necromancer attains 20th level, she undergoes a hideous transformation and becomes a lich." The text further goes on to say in PLAYING A DREAD NECROMANCER, "If you career continues as planned, you will survive forever as a lich." I read these passages and assumed this meant you gained all the benefits of the Lich Template on page 167 of the Monster Manual, including the Turn Resistance, Immunities to cold, electricity, and polymorph, the +2 ability increases to Int, Wis, Cha etc. However, it later says in the description of Lich Transformation, "Her type changes to undead and she gains all the traits of the undead(see page 317 of the Monster Manual)." If you read the rules as written there it seems that you don't become a true "Lich" you just become an undead with some watered down Lich abilities. I have to know sage does the Dread Necromancer recieve the Lich Template from page 167 of the Monster Manual at 20th level, or does he just become an undead masquerading as a lich at 20th level.
Anyone seen any Errata on this or an official word?

The White Toymaker |

It reads "... She undergoes a hideous transformation and becomes a lich. Her type changes to undead, and she gains all the traits of the undead..."
Since they also gain Craft Wondrous Item as a bonus feat at 19th level with the note "This helps her prepare the phylactery required to become a lich" it would seem to me to be somewhat silly to read "becomes a lich" as meaning anything other than what it says. The bit about type changing to undead is just an unnecessary statement of the obvious for the sake of "clarity".