Warlock Spell-Like Abilities Clarification


3.5/d20/OGL


Ok, folks, I need your help. I have a warlock player in my game who wanted to take Ability Focus (Invocations). I told him that each of the invocations he had counted as a single instance of a Spell-Like Ability, and therefore would have to be taken individually for Ability Focus. He asked me where that rule came from, pointing to the book's wording as backup of his interpretation. It's a little unclear about this issue.

Obviously, I could just say outright that it's my game, and what I say goes, but I'd like to have some sort of official (or even semi-official) source backing me up if at all possible. I swear I read something of that nature a while ago, but I can't seem to find it anywhere now.

So, the question is, can anyone help me find a clarification of this ruling?

Thanks for your help.


Steev42 wrote:


So, the question is, can anyone help me find a clarification of this ruling?

Thanks for your help.

The wording on page 7 of Complete Arcane refers to invocations as spell-like abilities - plural. Semantically, the plural use in the entry implies that each invocation is a separate spell-like ability.

-KS

Community / Forums / Gamer Life / Gaming / D&D / 3.5/d20/OGL / Warlock Spell-Like Abilities Clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.