steve496's page

29 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




Seoni's corruptor role card has the following power:

"You may treat a card in your hand that has the corrupted trait as though it has the same powers as the top card of the blessings discard pile. This counts as playing a blessing"

My understanding is that this does not copy corruption effects from the top card of the blessings deck, because those are instructions rather than powers - this has previously been discussed in the context of Blessing of the Gods.

However, what's not clear to me is whether it still uses the corruption instructions on the card that you are playing. That is: if I play a (corrupted) Corroded Helm as a Blessing of Ascension off the blessing deck, do I still have to bury a random card from my discard pile in accordance with the instruction on the card?

I feel like the answer should be no, and that is the (unofficial) answer stated here; but it does seem a little odd, as, for instance, that would mean that if I played a Blessing of Abraxas, copying a Blessing of Abraxas off the top of the blessings discard pile, I don't have to pay the Abraxas corruption cost off either card. Is that the way it's supposed to work, or is there some subtlety of the rules I'm missing?


Two related rules questions came up in our game, around Simoun (or more generally, any character that recharges weapons instead of discarding them) and Dagger of Doubling. And in both cases, I can find sections of the rulebook that support each answer.

1. Can you use a Dagger of Doubling to draw itself? The idea being: you use the discard ability of the dagger ("search your deck for a weapon that has the Knife trait and draw it"), but your character ability to recharge instead of discarding kicks in at which point the dagger is now in your deck and is a valid target for the ability.

On the one hand: page 8 of the Mummy's Mask rulebook states "When you play cards... set them aside while you process their effects." This would imply that the Dagger is set aside while you're drawing a knife, only then recharging and winding up on the bottom of your deck.

On the other hand, lower down the page the rulebook states "perform the first action required by a power before performing any other action. For example, if a card says 'Recharge this card to recharge a card from your discard pile', recharge the card you're playing before recharging the card from your discard pile". Note that this is the opposite of what's implied by the previous rule - if you set aside, evaluate the effect, and then recharge the card, you wind up with the played card on the bottom. And applying this rule to our situation, the Dagger recharges before we search our deck for a knife so can target itself (or get shuffled into the deck if we target something else).

2. Assuming that the answer to question 1 is yes: can you then play the Dagger a second time on the same check, for the other ability?

On the one hand: the rulebook states "a specific card's power may only be used once per check or step". Which seems like a pretty clear no.

On the other hand, the following example re: Shock Lizard clarifies "You can do either, but you cannot do both; once you play the card one way, it's no longer in your hand for you to play it the other way" - but what if the card is, in fact, still in your hand despite being played, as with the Dagger?

More generally: it feels like preventing the Dagger from being played a second time violates the metarule "Card's Don't Have Memories". The card doesn't know that it was already played on your check; it just knows that "another weapon" was played, so why shouldn't it be able to be played again?

Thoughts?


Question 1: Is Mother Myrtle intended to be able to use attack spells?

My initial impression upon reading the character was that you could use attack spells as part of your combat ability. In particular: you cast, say, Force Missiles to use your Arcane skill +2d4 for your combat check, and then use her ability to use Wisdom in place of Arcane to get some reasonable attack roll against things. And then her ability to recharge otherwise-banished arcane cards kicks in, and so you keep the spell in your deck.

However, reading the relevant section of the rules from the Wrath of the Righteous FAQ:

Quote:
Some cards allow you to use a particular skill for a specific type of check, or to use one skill instead of another. (These cards generally say things like "For your combat check, use your Strength or Melee skill," or "Use your Strength skill instead of your Diplomacy skill.") You may play only 1 such card or use only 1 such power to determine which skill you're using.

This seems to imply that while I can replace my combat check with arcane, or my arcane check with wisdom, I can't do both due to the "may only play 1" restriction, which would significantly limit the value of such cards. Is this intended, or are you allowed to do "nested" replacements of this sort?

Question 2: When I use my Wisdom skill for an Arcane check, is it now a Wisdom check as well? For instance, if I'm playing Wrath of the Righteous, does a Wisdom Mythic Path apply to my Arcane checks? It clearly does if I were using a wisdom-based arcane skill, but its a little less clear if "using your wisdom skill" is the same as "making a wisdom check".