Red Dragon

phalen's page

14 posts. Alias of Andrew Williamson.


Hey all.

Due to a lack of players for the foreseeable future my normal group has dissolved.

I recently moved from Gig Harbor up to Poulsbo, and I'd really like to find a group in the Poulsbo/Silverdale/Bremerton area.

So, I am looking at Dhampire Kinslayer Inquisitor and was wondering if I can take that AND the Preacher archetype at the same time.

I know usually you cannot take two archetypes that modify the same ability, but in both the Kinslayer and the Preacher's case they say you may OPT to replace the team work feat. This is unlike other options that outright replace the abilities without the option too when taking another archetype.

Kinslayer reads:
"Each time the kinslayer OPTS to take a greater brand, it replaces her ability to gain a teamwork feat at that level.

and preacher reads:
"Whenever the preacher could select a bonus teamwork feat (at 3rd, 6th, 9th, 12th, 15th, and 18th level), she can instead CHOOSE to increase her number of uses per day of this ability by one."

note the words opt and choose.

I am playing devils advocate here and interpreting this as if I don't take the replacement option for one of the archetypes (say Kinslayer) I can then essentially "burn" that team work feat for the other option, or the other way around.

Would this work?

Mergy wrote:
Artanthos wrote:

Slam does not specify.

In at least one season two scenario an eidolon was given two slam attacks with a single arms evolution.

Partially incorrect. Yes, the eidolon in question has two slam attacks, but it's perfectly legal to do so, because the eidolon in question has two sets of limbs evolutions (arms and legs).

A little late to the party and pulling a necro thread on this, but no the limbs (legs) evolution cannot have a slam attack attached to it. The Slam evolution specifically states it must be tied to a limbs (arms) evolution.

So quick question about Samurai's taking fighter specific feats such as Weapon specialization.

I know that their Samurai levels and Fighter levels stack for meeting prerequisites on Fighter specific feats for their weapon mastery weapon, but can a single class Samurai pick those feats up or would it have to take one level of fighter to get them?

Example: Starting a new game at level 4 with a Samurai, could I take 4 levels of Samurai (taking weapon mastery Bastard Sword) and get Weapon Specialization (Bastard Sword) as long as I had Weapon Focus (Bastard Sword). Or would I have to go 1 Fighter/3 Samurai?

I personally think I could just go 4 Samurai and be fine, but I need to know for sure.

Mauril wrote:

My group has been dabbling in monstrous cohorts pretty heavily. Each of us have one, and there are (up to) eight players per session.

Here's how you would deal with the Skeletal Champion. Since the Skeletal Champion in the book is a human warrior 1, and the monstrous cohort table makes no mention that you do not simply take the creature as listed in the Bestiary, you get a human warrior 1 as your Skeletal Champion (race and class might be negotiable with your GM). This creature is ECL 6, meaning you need to be at least level 8 (with a Leadership score of 9). Since you are level 9 with a Leadership score of 10, your Skeletal Champion can gain a class level (since SCs specifically can gain class levels). Taking levels in an associated class is recommended in the monstrous cohort text, so that would be fighter, barbarian or ranger (or warrior, I would think).

Your cohort would then gain XP as per the Leadership feat and level as per the XP gained and the Leadership table.

Does that make sense?

It does, I got hung up on the wording about it's effective level and what not is more of the thing. Thanks.

Okay so I am utterly confused by the leadership feat and how it works with regards to a monstrous cohort.

In the bestiary it says '...Their effective cohort "level" corresponds to the level available to the PC as afforded by his Leadership score"

So does this mean a Skeletal Champion is effectively the same as say a 6th level human fighter?

And does this mean I would need a leadership score of at least 9 to take it too? What if I had a leadership score of 10 (level 9 + 1 from charisma modifier for example)at 9th level and took the leadership feat then for the skeletal champion, giving me a cohort of up to level 7. Would I add a class level to the base skeletal champion from the bestiary?

Any information is greatly appreciated.

Ah-ha! I knew it had to be somewhere there, but just wasn't able to find it. Thanks!

So I was wondering if the domain powers are based off of your class level or your character level?

For example:
Air Domain - Electricity Resistance (EX): At 6th level, you gain resist electricity 10. This resistance increases to 20 at 12th level. At 20th level, you gain immunity to electricity.

so do I get the resist electricity 10 at 6th cleric level (or druid level if I take the domain option over animal companion) or just character level 6?

Just wondering as I am toying with the idea of making a cleric/druid character who worships Gozreh and takes Air, and Water as the cleric domains, and then takes fire as their druid domain. Clarification would be nice as I am sitting here wondering if I'd be stuck with resist cold, electricity, and fire 5 or would I have immunity to cold, electricity, and fire at 20th, if I split levels 10 cleric/10 druid.


Zurai wrote:
I strongly recommend house-ruling Vital Attack back to its original intent (as clearly shown in the Fighter preview) rather than the mistake-ridden, useless feat it currently is. Allow it to be used any time you make a single attack, including on non-pouncing charges and on AoOs.

That would be up to our DM, and as is he is an EXTREAMLY rules as written type, so I know this probably will not happen.

A Man In Black wrote:
phalen wrote:
That is more or less how I visualize it yes, was just thinking of the scythe going into say the neck or something after they hit the ground. Still a snazzy trick, and I think I will still advise him to pick up vital strike for when he has to move, and to use in conjunction with spring attack (possibly charge?)
It doesn't work with Spring Attack or charge either. Think of Vital Strike as Improved Walking Up To People And Hitting Them.

Why wouldn't it work with spring attack? All spring attack allows you to do is move, attack (as in attack action) then move again. Basically it allows you to split your move action. Or am I wrong on this?

Turin the Mad wrote:
phalen wrote:
Cool, thanks. I didn't think it would be able to be used, but wanted to ask just in case.
The visual remains nonetheless, he just doesn't get the added damage die/dice that Vital Strike grants. Perhaps as part of his Greater Trip Whirlwind Attack, the damage dealt by the AoO/bonus attacks are a part of two massive swings? The first with the haft, knocking foes down, the second slicing the legs?

That is more or less how I visualize it yes, was just thinking of the scythe going into say the neck or something after they hit the ground. Still a snazzy trick, and I think I will still advise him to pick up vital strike for when he has to move, and to use in conjunction with spring attack (possibly charge?)

Cool, thanks. I didn't think it would be able to be used, but wanted to ask just in case.

I don't know if this has been asked before but I will ask it now.

Can Vital Strike be used as an opportunity attack?

This plays into a character my friend is building who is going to be aiming for greater trip at 6th level, along with whirlwind.

Basic concept is to get a group of enemies, whirlwind - use greater trip to replace melee attacks against everyone and trip attempt them, thus gaining opportunity attacks against those he does trip (he is taking combat reflexes).

I mean it would be pretty cool to visualize his character in a group of enemies with his scythe and making an arching swing with it to trip them, then following up with a downward slice/chop into them those he knocks prone with a scythe.

Okay so it might have been asked before here but I just want some clarification.

I am going to be playing a NG cleric of Sarenrae a NG goddes. Now, as a NG cleric I know I cannot cast evil spells as it is directly opposed to the good part of my alignment, however I am wondering if I can cast spells with the chaos AND law descriptors because I am neutral on the law/chaos axis, or do I have to choose one of the two?

I think I can cast both as neither chaos nor law opposes neutrality, because they are both one step away on the law/chaos axis. However a friend disagrees saying something in regard to 3.5 along the lines of "as a neutral cleric once you cast a spell of law or chaos you cannot cast the other". I don't remember seeing this rule anywhere in 3.5 anyway, and this is Pathfinder not 3.5.

Semantics I know, but any help would be grand.