Asmodeus

olpolok's page

6 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Thanks for the answer StreamOfTheSky.

I am going to assume that since no one else posted, your take on the subject is the general consensus.

Let's just hope I am able to convince my DM.


So here is the thing, I was playing the other day with my alchemist and I was throwing "Stink Bomb" like I always do and my DM told me the following.

1) If I throw multiple Stink Bombs in the same area, enemies only have to roll fortitude for the first one and not the others since the cloud effect from the first one is still in place and it doesn't stack.

2) Since the feat "Precise Bomb" states that it only avoids splash damage and not status effects. If I throw Stink Bomb and an ally was on melee with an enemy, even with the feat I couldn't save them from being affected by the Stink Cloud.

Anyways, I wanted to know if you guys agree with this, because if it works this way then Stink Bomb is no longer the "King of Bombs" as Ogre stated in his guide, since it is not viable for use in A LOT of combat scenarios.

Thank you.


Sorry to barge in the middle of all this and not reading the fifteen previous pages of this thread, I just wanted to ask something that surely must have been discussed here and need confirmation.

According to this:

paizo wrote:

Trip: When a prone character stands up and provokes an attack of opportunity, can I use that attack to trip the character again?

No. The attack of opportunity is triggered before the action that triggered it is resolved. In this case, the target is still prone when the attack of opportunity occurs (and you get the normal bonuses when making such an attack). Since the trip combat maneuver does not prevent the target's action, the target then stands up.

Source: http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fm#v5748eaic9o72

Is this correct?

I had recently made a tripper build barbarian and the DM presented this to me which made my character fall apart. So I was looking for confirmation on the matter.

Much obliged.


Sorry for the necroposting, but new information has come to light and I need some feedback about it.

The following rules below suggest that A you can take free actions between attacks as part of a full attack, B letting go and grabbing back a two handed weapon qualifies as a free action and C using quick-draw also qualifies as a free action.

http://paizo.com/paizo/faq/v5748nruor1fm#v5748eaic9o72

paizo wrote:

Multiple Weapons, Extra Attacks, and Two-Weapon Fighting: If I have extra attacks from a high BAB, can I make attacks with different weapons and not incur a two-weapon fighting penalty?

Yes. Basically, you only incur TWF penalties if you are trying to get an extra attack per round.
Let's assume you're a 6th-level fighter (BAB +6/+1) holding a longsword in one hand and a light mace in the other. Your possible full attack combinations without using two-weapon fighting are:
(A) longsword at +6, longsword +1
(B ) mace +6, mace +1
© longsword +6, mace +1
(D) mace +6, longsword +1
All of these combinations result in you making exactly two attacks, one at +6 and one at +1. You're not getting any extra attacks, therefore you're not using the two-weapon fighting rule, and therefore you're not taking any two-weapon fighting penalties.
If you have Quick Draw, you could even start the round wielding only one weapon, make your main attack with it, draw the second weapon as a free action after your first attack, and use that second weapon to make your iterative attack (an "iterative attack" is an informal term meaning "extra attacks you get from having a high BAB"). As long as you're properly using the BAB values for your iterative attacks, and as long as you're not exceeding the number of attacks per round granted by your BAB, you are not considered to be using two-weapon fighting, and therefore do not take any of the penalties for two-weapon fighting.
The two-weapon fighting option in the Core Rulebook specifically refers to getting an extra attack for using a second weapon in your offhand. In the above four examples, there is no extra attack, therefore you're not using two-weapon fighting.
Using the longsword/mace example, if you use two-weapon fighting you actually have fewer options than if you aren't. Your options are (ignoring the primary/off hand penalties):
(A') primary longsword at +6, primary longsword at +1, off hand mace at +6
(B') primary mace at +6, primary mace at +1, off hand longsword at +6
In other words, once you decide you're using two-weapon fighting to get that extra attack on your turn (which you have to decide before you take any attacks on your turn), that decision locks you in to the format of "my primary weapon gets my main attack and my iterative attack, and my off hand weapon only gets the extra attack, and I apply two-weapon fighting penalties."

paizo wrote:

Two-Handed Weapons: What kind of action is it to remove your hand from a two-handed weapon or re-grab it with both hands?

Both are free actions. For example, a wizard wielding a quarterstaff can let go of the weapon with one hand as a free action, cast a spell as a standard action, and grasp the weapon again with that hand as a free action; this means the wizard is still able to make attacks of opportunity with the weapon (which requires using two hands).

As with any free action, the GM may decide a reasonable limit to how many times per round you can release and re-grasp the weapon (one release and re-grasp per round is fair).

So taking this new information into account, wouldn't it be possible to make:

1) A natural attack weapon with one hand the grabbing the two handed weapon as a free action and then doing your iterative attacks with the weapon.

Or even better.

2) Make your natural attacks and then with quickdraw take out your weapons and also do your iterative weapon attacks.

What do you guys think?


Okay, but how about this.

If you forgo your iterative attacks, could you use your claws if you had a two handed weapon in hand and you didn't sheathed the weapon but instead, switch the weapon of available hands.

Would that be viable?


I apologize in advance for the tricky long wording.

If you have a primary natural attack claw and were also using a two handed weapon, could you make your natural attack as a secondary natural attack while holding the two handed weapon one handed and after delivering said natural attack could you use that very same hand to grab the two handed weapon to deliver your iterative weapon attacks?

Thank you.