| cherub78 |
| 3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
Hey Guys!
Browsing through the boards I found two interpretations of the Raise the dead revelation:
Raise the Dead (Su): As a standard action, you can summon a single skeleton or zombie to serve you. The undead creature has a number of Hit Dice equal to your oracle level. It remains for a number of rounds equal to your Charisma modifier. At 7th level, you can summon a bloody skeleton or fast zombie. At 15th level, you can summon an advanced skeleton or zombie. You can use this ability once per day plus one additional time per day at 10th level.
Let's have a look on a Level 3 oracle summoning a skeleton .
A: Some assume, when using this revelation, you are supposed to take the standard human skeleton from the bestiary and add 2 HD
B: Some assume, you take a creature of 3 HD (like a bugbear) an add the skeleton template.
'A' seems to be widely favored on the boards. Bu I have some concernes about it. First of all I see no limitation to human skeletons in the RAW. Why shouldn't a bugbear oracle summon bugbear skeletons??
Second there is no mentioning of "adding" HD to the skeleton. It just "has" such dice like a bugbear would remain is racial HD when raised as a skeleton.
Third, in higher levels, a human skeleton with 17 HD makes no sense for me. It would be an absolute exception to the normal bestiary creatures. All other summoning spells summon regular creatures with templates. Why shouln't this one?
Fourth, it is much more fun summoning dragon an bulette skeletons ;-)
Has there ever been a clarification? Has it ever been in the FAQs?