![]()
Search Posts
![]()
![]() I can't see anyone else asking this question, but it bugs me: I note that when a gunner fires a tracking weapon, and the missile is still in flight next turn - a new gunnery roll is needed. Who/what makes the gunnery roll?
Or, to put it another way:
I think the missile homes in on its own, hence why you lose assorted bonuses like "the actions of fellow crew members". who can't reach out to the in-flight missile - it's on its own. (It sets off with "good" or "bad" coords according to the skill and ability of the initial gunner, so presumably users their numbers in the subsequent tracking rolls.) ![]()
![]() So if I have 50cr to spare to buy medical recovery from wounds, I could buy a Medpatch or a Mk1 Serum of Healing. (Both L1, 50cr). Which to choose? Let's see... Medpatch adds +10 to Medicine check (untrained) to Stop Bleeding OR Stabilize Dying - but there's a chance to fail, and you only get 1 of 2 effects.
After that I look at Treat Deadly Wounds - needs a Medkit (Basic DC25, or Advanced DC20 to use), restores target's level HP (or their level + your Int bonus if you beat DC by 5).
So why on earth would I waste 50cr on a Medpatch when I could buy a Serum of Healing for the same credits?
![]()
![]() Can you settle an unresolvable argument we have: in the APG, the Summoner and Evolutions are introduced. The Evolution "Bite" p.60 gives damage for a Bite attack by size, then states "if the eidolon already has a bite attack, this evolution allows it to deal 1-1/2 times its Strength modifier on damage rolls with its bite". So far so good, if you only have one head! Ultimate Magic introduces "extra head" p.77 The extra head doesn't have any additional attack unless you add Bite, Gore, or Breath. So if I start with a Quadruped which has one head, and Bite, initially.
what happens if I add Bite to the 2nd head, then add Bite a further time, to boost damage to 1-1/2 Str? does it
![]()
![]() Tengu Swordtrained states Tengu are "automatically proficient with sword-like weapons (including bastard swords, daggers, elven curve blades,..." The list includes some Simple, some Martial and some Exotic blades (e.g. Elven Curve Blade).
I have automatically been assuming that since Swordtrained includes several other Exotic blades, that it includes the Exotic 1-handed proficiency ... but I have been challenged, and the challenger suggests "proficiency" literally lets the Tengu wield the items listed without the -4 penalty and so need only grant 2-handed Martial Proficiency. I'd *love* an official ruling, or as near as I can get. Rulings based on personal interpretation, house rules, or campaigns are not going to settle the question! ![]()
![]() I have my print copy of the APG, but the Pathfinder SRD has not yet been updated. I find the online SRD very useful, as the cross-links let me chase down questions in a way that paper books don't... Any word from Paizo as to when the SRD will include the OGL content from the APG? And,for that matter, the OGL content (eg tables) from the Gamemastery book? ![]()
![]() the definition text for "Spell-like abilities" is fragmenting as more text is added. There are 3 entries in the core PFRPG book, in thr "significant term", under combat actions, and in the glossary;
The PF RPG core states
PFRPG wrote: Spell-like abilities can be dispelled and counterspelled as normal. The bestiary states PFBestiary wrote: Spell-like abilities cannot be used to counterspell, nor can they be counterspelled. ...so which is right? I had hoped it;d be as simple as "the Bestiary came 2nd, Paizo corrected something, and updated the PRD as well as the OGL Bestiary", but they haven't... ![]()
![]() a question has come from a player - if they have (eg a Rogue with "Minor Magic" Rogue Talent) a Spell-like Ability, does it count for activating a Spell Trigger item like a wand? Actually, the player is trying to argue that having one spell-like ability as a class feature puts spell-like-casting into her class, and wants to evade Use Magical Device for other wands she has! I can't actually find anything specific to clarify the question, and it applies to Monsters too, so I'd like to get a grasp on this... A related question, which I fell I have seen an answer to somewhere but can't pin down (maybe in 3e stuff?) was: ok, a spell-like ability requires speech is the spell has verbal components, and gestures if it has somatic components, but does a Spell-like Ability require spell-components?? ![]()
![]() I am puzzled about "same size" changes. Consider Alter Self, and a Small or Medium target.
Quote:
I see that if a Human (Medium) changes to "Halfling" (Small), he gains +2 Dex, and changes Size category which adds a further +1 AC, +1 Atk, -1 CMB, -1 CMD; and if a Gnome changes to "Elf" (Medium) she gains +2 Str, and changes Size category which adds a further -1 AC, -1 Atk, +1 CMB, +1 CMD;but is this really saying that changing from Human to "Elf" gains +2 Str? and Gnome changing to "Halfling" gets +2 Dex? ![]()
![]() Assuming I read correctly, then:
Hmmm... or have I missed some rule that says "0-level spells are not Intense Spells"? |